OB/GYN advocates for health care, and now, alumni

on this article
Summer 2010 issue (pdf)

As he transitions from one presidency to the next, Steven C. Bergin, MD ’74, GME ’78, is determined to continue his advocacy for an improved health care system in the U.S. This spring, Dr. Bergin was elected President of the Medical College of Wisconsin/Marquette Medical Alumni Association, just as he was completing his term as the 155th President of the Wisconsin Medical Society.

While leading the state society, Dr. Bergin’s presidential theme focused on improving health care quality, controlling costs and increasing access to health care. The health care bill passed by Congress in March leaves him cautiously optimistic that meaningful change will occur, but this is only the beginning of the journey to effective reform, he said.

“Now that health care reform legislation has become the law of the land, we must recognize that it is only the framework for change,” Dr. Bergin said. “The real reform will evolve from the administrative rules and regulations that have yet to be written. Physicians cannot become complacent during the discussions that will ensue and must maintain political activism.”

Steven C. Bergin, MD ’74, GME ’78; T. Michael Bolger, JD; Thomas G. Wittmann, MD ’84, GME ’87; and William A. Schultz, MS
Steven C. Bergin, MD ’74, GME ’78, (left) was elected President of the Alumni Association on April 30. He is pictured with College President and CEO T. Michael Bolger, JD; outgoing Association President Thomas G. Wittmann, MD ’84, GME ’87; and Executive Director of Alumni Relations William A. Schultz, MS.

Serving as Alumni Association President will give Dr. Bergin ample opportunity to engage in thoughtful discussion on this topic with classmates and other Medical College graduates in and out of Wisconsin. Through this role he can encourage physician participation in shaping the future of health care. He will also use the platform to promote his top priority among alumni – reducing medical students’ financial burden.

“Medical education is costly for medical schools and the students in training,” he said. “With the current economic conditions, it is imperative that Medical College alumni support their alma mater vocally and financially. Scholarship support is essential to recruit the best candidates. With the visionary leadership our administration has shown, this is the least we as proud MCW graduates can do.”

Buoyed by his relationships with patients, the variety of his work and the enduring miracle of life, Dr. Bergin has enjoyed 31 years of obstetrics and gynecology practice in the Stevens Point area. He currently sees patients at the Aspirus Weston Clinic and the Aspirus Wausau Hospital. He was a clinical instructor with the Medical College at Milwaukee County General Hospital before relocating to Stevens Point.

“I feel very fortunate to have been trained at The Medical College of Wisconsin,” Dr. Bergin said. “When I left, I felt I was more than prepared to meet the challenges of medicine as they existed at the time. I’m extremely proud of the way the school, under excellent leadership, has advanced, becoming one of the premier medical schools in the nation.”

Dr. Bergin has been dedicated to his craft through the years. He serves on the board of directors for the Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation as well as for MetaStar, a health care quality improvement organization. He is an officer of the Portage County Medical Society and a member of the American Medical Association. In the community, he is a Past President of the Central Wisconsin Symphony and Monteverdi Master Chorale.

For recreation, Dr. Bergin collects post-war Lionel trains and enjoys gardening, fishing and hiking. He and his wife of 38 years, Susan, have three adult children – two sons and a daughter, Ashlee, who just completed her OB/GYN residency in June.

Alumni Association Board update

President:  Steven C. Bergin, MD ’74, GME ’78
President-elect:  John T. Bjork, MD ’71, Fel ’76
Secretary-Treasurer:  Kathleen S. Stokes, MD ’87, GME ’91
New directors elected to three-year terms:  Edwin G. Montgomery, MD ’61, GME ’64; LeRoy J. Byrd, MD ’64; Sarah J. Pratt, MD ’78, GME ’81



We welcome your comments about this article and also invite you to share your own experiences. Comments are subject to approval. The Medical College reserves the right to edit comments for length, grammar, clarity and appropriateness.

Please include your first and last name. Alumni, please also feel free to include your class year(s). Your e-mail address will not be published.

Comments / Ratings

The following required items were not provided or are in the wrong format. Please provide the required responses and submit again:

  Please enter your name
  Please enter a valid email
Comment Title:
Comment: 250 characters left
  Please enter a comment

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 07/26/2012