Commencement nuggets
on this article

  Summer 2010 issue (pdf)

Top 2010 faculty honors go to three alumni

All three recipients of The Medical College of Wisconsin’s Distinguished Service Awards this year are alumni. The award is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a Medical College faculty member. The 2010 recipients are:

Dr. Aufderheide

Tom P. Aufderheide, MD, GME ’86, is Professor of Emergency Medicine and Associate Chair of Research Affairs for Emergency Medicine at the Medical College. A valued faculty member for 24 years, he also co-directs the Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s Adult Translational Research Unit.

A senior attending physician at Froedtert Hospital, Dr. Aufderheide’s scholarly accomplishments have advanced how pre-hospital care is performed in the community. He is an internationally recognized researcher in emergency cardiac care and resuscitation whose studies have changed CPR guidelines and practice internationally. He has been instrumental in the creation of CPR coursework for the American Heart Association. He is lead investigator for three National Institutes of Health-funded, national multi-center clinical trials evaluating interventions and outcomes.


Dr. Byhardt

Roger W. Byhardt, MD ’68, is Professor of Radiation Oncology at the Medical College and has been on the faculty since 1975. He was Chief of Radiation Oncology at Zablocki VA Medical Center for 34 years, and for the past four years, the Radiation Oncology Medical Director at St. Catherine’s Hospital in Kenosha. Currently, Dr. Byhardt is the Radiation Oncology Medical Director at the Alyce and Elmore Kraemer Cancer Center at St. Joseph’s Hospital in West Bend.

Dr. Byhardt is an expert in lung cancer treatment whose leadership helped shaped the direction of clinical lung cancer research in this country. He has worked tirelessly to apply new technology and interdisciplinary methodology to set a high standard of cancer care for VA patients.

Dr. Melzer-Lange

Marlene D. Melzer-Lange, MD ’75, GME ’78, is Professor of Pediatric Emergency Medicine at the Medical College, where she has been a faculty member for more than 30 years. She serves as Medical Director of the Emergency Department and Trauma Center and President of the Medical Dental Staff at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin.

An advocate for women and youth violence prevention, Dr. Melzer-Lange led the 1995 development of Project Ujima, a support program for victims of youth violence. In 2001, she became its Medical Director. Her community leadership has improved health care for the underserved. Her work has advanced medical education and training at the College, where she has also served as Director of Resident and Student Education for Pediatric Emergency Medicine since 1988.

Commencement nuggets

The Medical College of Wisconsin awarded 258 total degrees at its 97th commencement event on May 21, 2010, in Milwaukee. Receiving degrees were 193 MD graduates, 22 PhD graduates, 20 MS graduates, 7 MA graduates and 16 MPH graduates.

Michael Bliss, PhD, gave the commencement address and received an honorary doctor of science degree from the Medical College. Dr. Bliss holds the title of University Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto. The author of 12 award-winning books, he specializes in the history of medicine and the history of Canada. He is an honorary fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Several faculty members were presented with teaching awards during the 2010 commencement activities, including three alumni.

  • Mingyu Liang, PhD, Associate Professor of Physiology, received the Graduate Student Award for Outstanding Mentor.

  • Hubert V. Forster, PhD, Professor of Physiology, received the Graduate Student Award for Outstanding Teacher.

  • Jessica A. Crawford, MD, a resident in obstetrics and gynecology, and Terry L. McMillan, MD, a resident in emergency medicine, each received MCWAH Housestaff Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

  • Joseph C. Battista, MD, GME ’88, Associate Clinical Professor of Surgery, received the Milwaukee Academy of Medicine Award for Excellence in Teaching.

  • Gary L. Kolesari, MD ’77, PhD ’76, Professor of Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy, received the Harry Beckman Basic Science Teaching Award.

  • Michael R. Lund, MD, GME ’00, Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, received the Ernest O. Henschel Clinical Teaching Award.


We welcome your comments about this article and also invite you to share your own experiences. Comments are subject to approval. The Medical College reserves the right to edit comments for length, grammar, clarity and appropriateness.

Please include your first and last name. Alumni, please also feel free to include your class year(s). Your e-mail address will not be published.

Comments / Ratings

The following required items were not provided or are in the wrong format. Please provide the required responses and submit again:

  Please enter your name
  Please enter a valid email
Comment Title:
Comment: 250 characters left
  Please enter a comment

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 07/26/2012