Anesthesiology Research

The Research Division of the Anesthesiology Department began in 1968 with a small laboratory in the Physiology Department in the Cramer Building of what was then Marquette Medical School. The Division relocated to the Allen-Bradley Medical Science Building on the County Hospital campus to accommodate the expanding research effort. In 1975, further growth in research forced a move to a newly renovated wing of the VA Hospital, and in 1989 some of the investigators relocated to new space in the Medical College of Wisconsin Education and Research Building.

The MCW Department of Anesthesiology is nationally and internationally known for research in clinical and basic science. Anesthesiology faculty are principal- or co-investigators on many National Institutes of Health (NIH), VA Merit Review, American Heart Association (AHA), National Science Foundation (NSF), American Diabetes Association, and other industry grants. Despite the severe competitiveness for NIH research dollars, over the last five years our scientists have received $15 million in NIH funding, $3 million from the VA, and $1 million from other sources, including NSF and AHA.

Our Research Faculty

Please wait while we gather your results.

Research News

MCW Professors Drs. Camara, Kwok, and Stowe Awarded $650,000 VA Merit

MCW Professors of Anesthesiology Dr. Amadou K.S. Camara, PhD, Dr. Wei-Meng Kwok, PhD, and Dr. David Stowe MD, PhD, have been awarded a $650,000 merit from the Veterans Affairs Biomedical Laboratory Research and Development/Clinic Science Research and Development Merit Review Program.

Quinn Hogan, MD, awarded $1.1 million NIH grant

Quinn Hogan, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, awarded National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke R01 grant in the amount of $1,100,000.

Zeljko Bosnjak, PhD, named President-Elect of the FAER Academy of Research Mentors in Anesthesiology

Zeljko Bosnjak, PhD named President-elect of the FAER, Academy of Research Mentors in Anesthesiology

Improving CPR: MCW Part of Collaborative Team to Develop New Life-Saving Strategies

Researchers at the Medical College of Wisconsin are co-recipients of a five-year, $5.4 million NIH Director’s Transformative Research Award.

MCW Research Day

Residents Julie Freed and Micah Long receive awards for their abstracts.

Anthony Hudetz, DBM, PhD, awarded $1.2 million NIH grant renewal

Anthony Hudetz, DBM, PhD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Physiology and Biophysics, was awarded a R01 grant renewal from the National Institutes of Health in the amount of $1,200,000.

Dr. Bosnjak Receives $9 Million NIH Grant

Dr. Bosnjak Receives $9 Million NIH Grant to Study Susceptibility of Diabetic Hearts to Injury

High School Student Mentored by Dr. Zeljko Bosnjak and Jessica Olson Honored

High school student mentored by Dr. Zeljko Bosnjak and Jessica Olson honored for her research project.

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2016

Page Updated 03/31/2016