Current Students

 

 

Alex AbelAlex Abel

Email: aabel@mcw.edu
Mentor: Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Buena Vista University, IA, 2010; MS, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD, 2012
Research Interest: Molecular mechanisms governing immune cell function

Rick ArmstrongRick Armstrong

Email: rarmstrong@mcw.edu
Mentor: Thomas Zahrt, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Biochemistry, Alma College, Alma, MI, 2012
Research Interest: Lipid droplet production in Mycobacterium tuberculosis

 

Carlie AurubinCarlie Aurubin

Email: caurubin@mcw.edu
Mentor: Vera Tarakanova, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BS, Biology, Oakwood University, Huntsville, Alabama, 2014
Research Interest: Molecular Studies of Viral Infection

Ismael BanlaIsmael Banla

Email: ibanla@mcw.edu
Mentor: Nita Salzman, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Biochemistry, Minnesota State University Moorhead, Moorhead, MN, 2012
Research Interest: Bacterial factors important for GI tract colonization

Rajruba ChakrabortyRajruba Chakraborty

Email: rchakraborty@mcw.edu
Mentor: Nita Salzman, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2011
Previous Education: MS, University of Calcutta, Kolkata, West Bengal, India, 2008
Research Interest: Immune regulation of Enterococcus faecalis in the murine gastrointestinal tract

 

Yao ChenYao Chen

Email: yachen@mcw.edu
Mentor: Weiguo Cui, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: BS, Beijing Sport University, Beijing, China, 2009-2013
Research Interest: Memory T Cell Biology

Ashley CieckoAshley Ciecko

Email: aciecko@mcw.edu
Mentor: Yi-Guang Chen, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: B.S. Cellular and Molecular Biology, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, 2011
Research Interest: Immunogenetics of Type I Diabetes

Tiffany ClaeysTiffany Claeys

Email: tclaeys@mcw.edu
Mentor: Richard Robinson, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BS, Indiana University – South Bend, South Bend, IN, 2015
Research Interest: T cell response in pediatric nontuberculous mycobacterial disease

Michael CurtisMichael Curtis

Email: mcurtis@mcw.edu
Mentor: Jenifer Coburn, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, North Central College, Naperville, IL, 2012
Research Interest: Borrelia burgdorferi – Host Interactions

Eric DarrahEric Darrah

Email: edarrah@mcw.edu
Mentor: Vera Tarakanova, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, 2010
Research Interest: Virus-host interactions

Orlando DeLeonOrlando DeLeon

Email: odeleon@mcw.edu
Mentor: John Kirby, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: BA, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, 2010
Research Interest: The role of xenobiotics for their capacity to disrupt the gut microbiota with deleterious consequences on metabolism.

Aaron DirckAaron Dirck

Email: adirck@mcw.edu
Mentor: Amy Hudson, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BA, Carthage College, Kenosha, WI, 2012
Research Interest: Study of Human herpesvirus 6 and 7 encoded protein U21 and the rerouting of MHC class I from the cellular surface to evade the immune system

Kate DixonKate Dixon

Email: kdixon@mcw.edu
Mentor: Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, Biology/Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, 2013
Research Interest: The role of NK cell activation via TLR agonist, and NK cells dynamic communications with other innate and adaptive immune cells

Alex GardnerAlex Gardner

Email: agardner@mcw.edu 
Mentor: Joseph Barbieri, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: BS, Chemistry, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI, 2015
Research Interest: I am currently researching the anterograde trafficking and localization of Botulinum neurotoxin.

Zachary GerbecZachary Gerbec

Email: zgerbec@mcw.edu
Mentor: Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, University of Madison-Wisconsin, 2010
Research Interest: The role of metabolism in NK cell effector functions

Achia KhatunAchia Khatun

Email: akhatun@mcw.edu
Mentor: Weiguo Cui, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Benjamin LabbeBenjamin Labbe

Email: blabbe@mcw.edu
Mentor: Christopher Kristich, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Genetic and Molecular Genomics, Michigan State University, 2012
Research Interest: Intrinsic antibiotic resistance pathways

Philip LangePhilip Lange

Email: plange@mcw.edu
Mentor: Vera Tarakanova, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Microbiology, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 2011
Research Interest: The role of the sterol metabolic network in the context of gammaherpesvirus infection

Valery Lozada-FernandezValery Lozada-Fernandez

Email: vlozada@mcw.edu
Mentor: John Kirby, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Rebekah MokryRebekah Mokry

Email: rmokry@mcw.edu
Mentor: Scott Terhune, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Natasha MoussourasNatasha Moussouras

Email: nmoussouras@mcw.edu
Mentor:  Michael Dwinell, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BA, Chemistry, BA, Spanish, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, 2012
Research Interest: Structure and function of CCL21, CCL19, and CCR7

Adam PickrumAdam Pickrum

Email: apickrum@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dara Frank, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Clinton PiperClinton Piper

Email: cpiper@mcw.edu
Mentor: William Drobyski, MD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

 

Fatima SaraviaFatima Saravia

Email: fsaravia@mcw.edu
Mentor: John Kirby, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

David SchauderDavid Schauder

Email: dschauder@mcw.edu
Mentor: Weiguo Cui, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 2010
Research Interest: Transcriptional regulation of CD8 T cell differentiation

Kaitlin SchmitzKaitlin Schmitz

Email: kschmitz@mcw.edu
Mentor: Vera Tarakanova, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Jason SiebertJason Siebert

Email: jsiebert@mcw.edu
Mentor: Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, 2012
Research Interest: The role of CARMA1 in the NFkB pathway and the resulting influence on cytotoxic and cytokine production

Grace SundeenGrace Sundeen

Email: gsundeen@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Barbieri, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BA, Biology, The College of St. Scholastica, Duluth, MN, 2010
Research Interest: Protein receptor of Tetanus toxin

Maxx TessmerMaxx Tessmer

Email: mtessmer@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dara Frank, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, Microbiology, Mathematics, University of WI - Milwaukee, 2012
Research Interest: Pseudomonas aeruginosa Type III secretion effector ExoU

Peter VolberdingPeter Volberding

Email: pvolberding@mcw.edu
Mentor: Weiguo Cui, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Emily VonderhaarEmily Vonderhaar

Email: evonderhaar@mcw.edu
Mentor: Michael Dwinell, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Erin WesleyErin Wesley

Email: ewesley@mcw.edu
Mentor: Matthew Riese, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Biochemistry and Biotechnology, University of Minnesota, Moorhead, MN, 2012
Research Interest: T cell responses to tumors

Kristin WestdorpKristin Westdorp

Email: knwestdorp@mcw.edu
Mentor: Scott Terhune, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2011
Previous Education: BS, Biochemistry, Alma College, Alma, MI 2012
Research Interest: Virus-host interactions

Melissa WhyteMelissa Whyte

Email: mwhyte@mcw.edu
Mentor: Amy Hudson, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Christa WinslowChrista Winslow

Email: cwinslow@mcw.edu
Mentor: Jenifer Coburn, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Chao YangChao Yang

Email: chaoyang@mcw.edu
Mentor: Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Pharmacy, University of Xiamen, Fujian, China, 2013
Research Interest: The role of IQGAP1 and KSR1 in NK cell effective function

Cheng-Yin YuanCheng-Yin Yuan

Email: cyuan@mcw.edu
Mentor: William Drobyski, MD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: Master of Science, Graduate Institute of Natural Products, Chang Gung University, Tao-Yuan, Taiwan 2013
Research Interest: Transplant immunology, Hematologic malignancies

Wen ZhuWen Zhu

Email: wezhu@mcw.edu
Mentor: Demin Wang, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:
Research Interest:

Madison ZuverinkMadison Zuverink

Email: mezuverink@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Barbieri, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2011
Previous Education: BS, Molecular Biology, Loyola University, Chicago, IL 2011
Research Interest: Translocation of tetanus toxin light chain