Institute for Health and Society

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Institute for Health and Society History

Institute for Health and Society History

On July 1, 2010, the Medical College of Wisconsin, Department of Population Health was reorganized into the Institute for Health and Society to reflect the increased role it will take in the College's public and community health and clinical and translational sciences efforts. Dr. John Meurer, Professor and Director of the Institute for Health and Society, along with his specialized team of faculty, staff, and students are dedicated to improving health and advancing health equity through community and academic partnerships.

The Institute for Health and Society consists of eight divisions and multiple subdivisions:

Director: John Meurer, MD, MBA

Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities 
Director: Arthur R. Derse, MD, JD

Community Engagement

  • Violence Prevention Initiative (VPI) - PI: John Meurer, MD MBA

Division of Epidemiology
Director: Laura Cassidy, PhD, MS

Division of Biostatistics
Director: Purushottam W. (Prakash) Laud, PhD

Director: Terry Brandenburg, MPH

  • Masters of Public Health Program

  • PhD Program in Community and Public Health

Global Health
Director: Steve Hargarten, MD, MPH

Health Equity and Urban Clinical Care Partnerships
Director: Earnestine Willis, MD, MPH
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 10/17/2014