Users must present a valid Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries borrower's card in order to borrow material from any MCW Library. Eligible borrowers include all faculty, staff, and students at MCW, employees of Froedtert Hospital, employees of Children's Hospital of Wisconsin, and local health care professionals. Limited reciprocal borrowing privileges exist between the MCW, Marquette University, and UW-Milwaukee libraries. Other private users may use the library on-site at no charge, and have limited borrowing privileges for a $35 annual fee. A special fee structure applies to corporate for-profit users of MCW Libraries.
Most books have a 4-week loan period and may be renewed up to 5 times if not on hold.
Articles from print journals may be requested via our Library on Request system. Articles will be scanned and delivered electronically.
Print journals have a 1-week loan period and may be renewed 1 time if not on hold.
Most multimedia materials have a 1-week loan period and may be renewed 1 time if not on hold.
Reserve Books and Materials
Faculty and staff involved in teaching activities may place books and other materials on reserve to make them available to the largest possible number of individuals. These materials are located behind the circulation desk.
Most reserve materials have a 2-hour loan period and may be renewed 1 time if not on hold.
Clerkship materials are checked for the duration of the clerkship and may not be renewed.
A limited amount of equipment (chargers, extension cords, Ethernet cables, etc.) is available for checkout. Most equipment has a 4-hour loan period and may be renewed 1 time if not on hold.
Some reserve material may be checked out overnight within 1 hour of closing and is due within 1 hour of opening the following day. Reserve items may not be returned in the outside book drop.
Overdue notices are sent out as a courtesy and failure to receive a notice does not constitute the basis for altering a fine. All users are subject to overdue fines. Borrowing privileges may be suspended until the fine is paid. Users who lose or deface a library owned item will be charged the full cost of replacement of the item plus a processing fee.
Items with a 4-week loan period: $0.20 per item per day
Reserve items with a 1-day or 7-day loan period: $1.00 per item per day
Reserve items with a 2-hour or 4-hour loan period: $0.50 per item per hour
Long Overdue Items
Items which have been overdue for the period of time specified below will be considered lost and billed to the borrower’s account.
Reserve items with a 2-hour, 4-hour, or 1-day loan period: Billed after 14 days
Items with 7-day check loan period: Billed after 28 days
Items with a 4-week loan period: Billed after 100 days.
The bill with consist of the replacement cost for the item plus a $20 processing fee. If the replacement cost cannot be readily ascertained from the item record, a $200 default charge will be assessed in which case staff will look up the actual replacement cost at the time of payment.
Bill adjustments will be made if a billed item is later returned.