Office of Faculty Affairs

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

The Edward J. Lennon Endowed Clinical Teaching Award 

In 1992, The Edward J. Lennon Endowed Clinical Teaching Award was established to recognize a full-time MCW faculty member in the earlier part of his/her career. This individual, reflecting Dr. Lennon's wishes, must be:

  • A full time or full professional effort MCW faculty member:
  • At the rank of instructor or assistant professor;
  • Engaged in clinical practice (e.g., direct patient care) in any clinical specialty or subspecialty; and
  • Recognized as actively interested in MCW’s teaching programs and committed to a career in direct teaching or the development of instructional strategies or tools

In summary, the Lennon Award was created to recognize those junior faculty who have clearly “made a difference” in the teaching programs of the Medical College of Wisconsin. This award, selected annually by the MCW Society of Teaching Scholars, is presented at convocation.

Any MCW faculty member is welcome to nominate a colleague.  Nominations are completed in the Spring; the nomination process includes:

  1. A nomination letter not to exceed two (2) pages in length, which describes the educational achievements of the nominee. 
  2. Supporting Documents not to exceed a total of five (5) pages providing examples/evidence of teaching excellence  (e.g.,  letters, a summary of teaching evaluations, support letters from former learners, outline of new educational products or materials). 
  3. To be fair to all candidates, submissions that exceed these page limits will not be considered.

Lennon Award Winners:

Year Name Department
2014 Savitha Sethumadhavan, PhD Biophysics
2013 Keith E. Baynes, MD Radiology
2013 Jennifer M. Connelly, MD Neurology
2012 Angela Bier, MD Pediatrics
2012 Heather Toth, MD Medicine
2011 Sanjani Tipnis, MD Pediatrics
2001 Matthew Tews, DO Emergency Medicine
2001 Kim Stoner, MD Medicine
2010 Tomar Begaz, MD Emergency Medicine
2010 Mike Weisgerber, MD Pediatrics
2009 Nancy Havas, MD Family and Community Medicine
2009 Martin Muntz, MD Medicine, GIM
2009 Brian Lewis, MD, FACS Surgery, Vascular
2008 Travis Webb, MD Surgery, Trauma & Critical Care
2008 Paola Palma Sisto, MD Pediatrics, Endocrinology
2008 Gunnar Larson, MD Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine
2007 Lisa Marr, MD Medicine, Neoplastics
2007 Kurt J. Pfeifer, MD Medicine, GIM
2007 LuAnn Moraski, DO Pediatrics, Medical Education
2006 Kathryn Denson, MD Medicine, Geriatrics
2005 Michael Lund, MD Obstetrics & Gynecology
2004 MaryEllen Goodell, MD Family and Community Medicine
2004 Lonie Salkowski, MD Radiology
2004 Dario Torre, MD, MPH Medicine, GIM
2003 Thomas Sato, MD Surgery, Pediatrics
2003 Elena Holak, MD, PharmD Anesthesiology
2002 Karen Brasel, MD, MPH Surgery, Trauma
2001 Joseph Layde, MD, JD Psychiatry
2001 Christopher Wood, MD Family and Community Medicine
2000 Ruric (Andy) Anderson, MD Medicine, GIM
2000 Patricia Lye, MD Pediatrics
1999 Wendy Larson-Peltier, MD Neurology
1998 Michael Kefer, MD Emergency Medicine
1997 David Lewis, MD Pediatrics (Deceased)
1996 Dale Berg, MD Medicine, GIM
1995 Andrew Norton, MD Medicine, GIM
1994 Janet Lindemann, MD Family and Community Medicine
1993 Peter Havens, MD, MS Pediatrics
1992 James Sebastian, MD Medicine, GIM
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 12/01/2014