Office of Public Affairs

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  
Share |

MCW Presents Inaugural Innovation Awards

Joseph E. Kerschner, MD, Dean of the Medical School and Executive Vice President of the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW), presented MCW’s first annual Community of Innovators Awards to two faculty members at MCW’s 2013 Convocation ceremony.

The award was established to recognize sustained, distinguished and superb achievement in original research, scholarship and education by MCW faculty members who, by demonstrating a superior level of innovation within their respective fields, have created a new dimension of performance. The award was bestowed in two categories: Faculty Innovator and Early Career Faculty Innovator.

Jeffrey R. Binder, MD, professor of neurology and biophysics, received the Faculty Innovator Award. Dr. Binder has played a key role in the development of functional magnetic resonance imaging, a powerful tool with which researchers can explore brain activity and function. Dr. Binder is a nationally respected researcher in his field, and has published nearly 100 peer-reviewed publications in high-profile journals. He has mentored dozens of students, many of whom have gone on to attain prestigious academic positions.

John C. Densmore, MD, assistant professor of surgery, received the Early Career Faculty Innovator Award. Dr. Densmore is a national expert in Endothelium-derived microparticle induced lung injury. Endothelium-derived microparticles are fragments of cells lining blood vessels that are released with tissue damage or stress.  He was profiled as a top-rated doctor in Milwaukee’s M. Magazine, and his dedication to teaching earned him MCW’s Top Ten Teaching Award in 2003 and the Excellence in Teaching Award in 2007.

Each Community of Innovators Award is $4,000, which may be used for laboratory or educational materials, professional development, travel, library materials, or other endeavors to support continued excellence in innovation.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 10/09/2013