EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Funding Opportunity at Fulbright Canada
Deadline: August 1, 2014

Fulbright Canada has a targeted opportunity for scholars in a wide variety of disciplines who specialize in improving the continuum of care for families that are impacted by addiction, mental health problems, and trauma. Fulbright Canada and the Norlien Foundation have partnered to create and support a program of Distinguished Visiting Research Chairs in Brain Science, and Child and Family Health and Wellness. At one of Alberta’s three research intensive universities, the scholar(s) would conduct translational research that would improve current approaches to preventing and treating addiction and mental health issues.

These distinguished chairs have three broad themes: Health and Social System Improvement, Addiction Care and Recovery, and Child Trauma. We are interested in applications from scholars in a variety of disciplines: population and public health, health services and systems research, public policy, knowledge translation and mobilization, business administration, organizational behavior and change management, psychology, sociology, social work, medicine and nursing, and other health disciplines, neurosciences, and early childhood development.

Core Facts about the awards

  • The Fulbright Canada competition for American scholars Distinguished Visiting Research Chairs is now open, and closes August 1, 2014
  • The competition is for awards taken up September 2015 or January 2016 (4 months)


  • Candidates must be U.S. citizens,
  • Hold a Ph.D., or equivalent professional degree as appropriate. Candidates outside academia (e.g., professionals, artists) with recognized professional standing and substantial professional accomplishments are also eligible, and
  • Be proficient in English.

This short notice funding opportunity, valued at US$35,000 for a four month residential exchange, closes on August 1, 2014. Interested candidates should email Brad Hector ( Program Officer for Scholars.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 07/07/2014