News, Special Recognition, and Awards

2013-2014 Surgery Residents (PGY5) Match to Fellowships

Valerie Grignol, MD
Surgical Oncology Fellowship
Ohio State University, Columbus

Dr. Valerie Grignol participated in the general surgical oncology match, consisting of 21 programs and 56 positions. Dr. Grignol will pursue her two-year surgical oncology fellowship training at the Ohio State University in Columbus, OH. Dr. Grignol graduated from Wright State University medical school before she began her general surgery residency in 2007 at Wright State University. Dr. Grignol came to MCW in 2011 to complete her training. From 2009-2011, she pursued two years of tumor immunology research at Ohio State focusing on microRNAs and melanoma. She has presented her work nationally and has published extensively. She was also a finalist for best poster at the 2011 Society of Surgical Oncology Annual Meeting.


Margaret (Meg) Riesenberg, MD
Acute Care Surgery Fellowship
University Nevada, Las Vegas

Dr. Margaret Riesenberg participated in the Acute Care Surgery match this year, consisting of 16 programs. She will begin her two-year fellowship at the University of Nevada Las Vegas, which is the home of the first American Association for the Surgery of Trauma approved ACS fellowship. After graduating from St. Louis University School of Medicine in St. Louis, MO, she started her MCW General Surgery residency in 2009. Her future career plans include practicing Trauma and Critical Care, and she would like to spend more time in fellowship examining the role of palliative medicine in surgery.


Irena Gribovskaja-Rupp, MDIrena Gribovskaja-Rupp, MD
Colorectal Surgery Fellowship
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis

Dr. Irena Rupp participated in the Colorectal Surgery match, consisting of 54 programs and 92 positions nationally. Dr. Rupp will pursue her one-year colorectal surgery fellowship training at the University of Minnesota located in Minneapolis. Dr. Rupp began her general surgery residency at MCW in 2007. From 2010-2012, she pursued two years of colorectal surgery basic science research using animal models to describe colonic dysmotility disorders. She has presented her work regionally and nationally and has published multiple papers in addition to receiving the MCWAH institutional award and the Condon-Donegan award twice for excellence in research during her residency.


Shaina Schaetzel, MD
Acute Care Surgery Fellowship
UCSF, Fresno

Dr. Shaina Schaetzel participated in the Acute Care Surgery match consisting of 16 programs nationally. She will pursue a two-year surgical fellowship next year at University of California San Francisco Fresno in Fresno, California. Her training program  will focus on education in surgical critical care, trauma, and emergency general surgery. Dr. Schaetzel completed medical school at the University of North Dakota and began her residency at MCW in 2009. During her time at MCW she was named as an outstanding medical student teacher and was elected by her peers and faculty as an Administrative Chief Resident. She also won the 2013 Wisconsin Committee on Trauma clinical research award for her research on methods of securing tracheostomy tubes to decrease risk of unintentional decanulation.

Thomas Wade, MD
Minimally Invasive Surgery Fellowship
Washington University, St. Louis

Dr. Thomas Wade matched with the Washington University St. Louis Minimally Invasive Surgery Fellowship. The MIS match consists of 39 programs dedicated to minimally invasive and foregut surgery. Dr. Wade graduated from Loyola Stritch School of Medicine and started his residency at MCW in 2008. He spent a research year dedicated to surgical education research with a particular focus on simulation and communication training and also completed the Surgical Education Research Fellowship through the Association for Surgical Education. Additionally, he participated in endocrine surgery outcomes research, studying the role of surgery in normocalcemic hyperparathyroidism and lithium-associated hyperparathyroidism. Dr. Wade has also served as the resident member on the Board of the Association of Program Directors in Surgery, as well as local committees on resident and student education.

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 06/03/2015