EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  


Andrew Phillips 2013 SPUR student in Dr. Brian Volkman's lab wins prestigious Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program Award. Andrew is a chemistry major at UW-Whitewater who has also been doing research with Dr. Chris Veldkamp, a Biochemistry alumni. Andrew worked in Dr. Volkman's lab in the summer of 2013 as part of the SPUR program which supports undergraduate research. 

Rebekah Gundry, PhD, Assistant Professor, to be Keynote speaker at the Younger Chemists Committee Poster Mixer on Nov. 1st. The mixer is sponsored by the ACS society. It will be held Nov. 1st from 6:30 - 9:00 PM in the Union Ballroom East on the UW Milwaukee Campus. The mixer is free to all attendees, presenters and guests.

To Matthew Scaglione, new faculty member, and co-recruit with the Neuroscience Research Center. Dr. Scaglione will join MCW on August 1st. Matthew comes from the University of Michigan Medical Center where he was a postdoctoral fellow. We are pleased and excited to have Matthew join us and wish him much success in his career. A formal announcement will be made at a later date.

Subarna Bhattacharya, graduate student, in Dr. Rebekah Gundry's lab takes 1st prize and Kurt Kolander, graduate student, Dr. Ravi Misra's lab takes 2nd prize at the annual Wisconsin Stem Cell Symposium. This year’s topic focused on cardiovascular biology. Both students did an excellent job representing their labs and The Medical College of Wisconsin in a highly competitive poster contest. Their professional attitude and excellent communication skills helped them beat out some very big name labs! Both students took home cash prizes for their efforts. Congratulations Subarna and Kurt!



Graduate Student News

We would like to welcome the following graduate students into the Department of Biochemistry. These students have completed their first year of graduate school and have now entered labs in which they intend to do their thesis and graduate with a Doctor of Philosophy. They are as follows:

Amber Bakkum - Blake Hill Lab
Becky Holme - Daisy Sahoo Lab
Erin Kropp (MSTP) - Rebekah Gundry Lab
Joo-Hyung Lee - Hyeongnman (Joseph) Jeong Lab

Amanda Nevins is the 2013-2014 GSA Biochemistry Department Representative.


Park Lab manuscript appears in Molecular and Cell Biology Aug 19 2013 titled "A mortalin/HSPA9-mediated switch in tumor suppressive signaling of Raf/MEK/ERK" Authors are: Wu, P. K., Hong, S.-K., Veeranki, S., Starenki, D., Karkhanis, M., Plaza, J. A., Park, J.-I Read More...

Dustin Whitney's latest paper, which appears in the current issue (June 26) of the J Am Chem Soc. describes a novel partial unfolding mechanism for the allosteric regulation of a PDZ domain protein the regulates cell polarity. Read more...

In the current (July 16) issue of Proc Nat Acad Sci USA, Francis Peterson and Brian Volkman (in collaboration with Sean Cutler, UC Riverside) published the X-ray crystal structure of a synthetic ABA agonist that elicits guard cell closure, ABA-regulated gene expression, and drought tolerance in plants. Read more...
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 03/28/2014