Armand J. Quick Award

For Outstanding Senior
Medical Students in Biochemistry

AJ Quick, MD PhD
The Armand J. Quick Award honors the memory of Armand J. Quick, MD, PhD, Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry from 1944-1964.

Dr. Quick was an internationally recognized contributor to knowledge concerning the basic mechanisms of blood clotting and to techniques involving the diagnosis and treatment of hemorrhagic disorders. Dr. Quick is best known for the Quick prothrombin test. 

The Quick Award is given to honor the senior students who, in the opinion of the faculty of the Department of Biochemistry, have demonstrated outstanding scholarship in Biochemistry and research with a dedication to future medical research.

 Armand J. Quick Award Current Recipients

Tyce Kearl, MD, PhD

Tyce Kearl was born in Logan, Utah, and attended Utah State University where he graduated with a BA in Biology with University and Departmental Honors. There, Tyce had extensive research experience in studying cardiac electrophysiology. He received several research fellowships and awards during this time including being selected as Fellow to the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies and Research. In this role, Tyce was in charge of conducting grant-writing seminars for undergraduate researchers across the university.

Tyce chose to attend the Medical College of Wisconsin as part of the Medical Scientist Training Program in 2006. He chose to pursue his PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Bryon Johnson in the department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics. The focus of his research was on the use of monoclonal antibodies to block tumor-mediated immunosuppression. In a murine model of multiple myeloma, Tyce found that administration of antibodies directed against the myeloma-expressed protein PD-L1 worked synergistically with whole body irradiation to eliminate tumors. His research supports the use of this novel combinatorial immunotherapeutic approach for the treatment of multiple myeloma. His research was published in the Journal of Immunology and presented at several national conferences on cancer immunotherapy.

Tyce completed his doctoral dissertation in 2012 and then returned to medical school to complete his MD degree. After graduation, Tyce will begin pediatric residency at the University of Wisconsin. He aspires to become a pediatric oncologist and work towards the development of better therapeutic approaches to cancer.


Wasakorn Kittipongdaja, MD

Wasakorn Ten Kittipongdaja was born and raised in Bangkok, Thailand. As a child, he spent most of his free time volunteering in his father’s dermatology clinic. This experience was the primary reason he was inspired to pursue a career in medicine. Wasakorn received his Bachelor of
Science degree in Physiological Science from the University of California in Los Angeles.

Upon admission to the Medical College of Wisconsin, Wasakorn sought and eventually secured a competitive student research position in the department of Dermatology. He began working under the expert guidance of Dr. Zelmira Lazarova and Dr. Sam Hwang. In Dr. Lazarova’s laboratory, Wasakorn studied the effects of combined radiation and wound injury on Laminin 332 depositions, which impressively resulted in a publication. In addition, Wasakorn’s dedication and aptitude for analysis was awarded with a research fellowship in Dr. Hwang’s laboratory. Here, he became devoted to the investigation of chemokines and chemokine receptor interaction, as well as potential therapeutic targets using small molecule inhibitors. As a result, Wasakorn’s accomplishments were selected for an oral presentation at the 2014 Society for Investigative Dermatology (SID) annual meeting in Albuquerque, NM. In addition, the SID also awarded him with the Albert M. Kligman Travel Fellowship.

After graduating from the Medical College of Wisconsin, Wasakorn will continue to explore his life-long dream of becoming an exceptional and well-rounded dermatologist. He is determined to remain closely involved in scientific research. Wasakorn’s ultimate goal is to earn a fulfilling career in academic dermatology.

 Previous Armand J. Quick Awardees

2014 - Tyce Kearl MD, PhD and Wasakorn Kittipongdaja, MD

2013 - Krista E. Asp, MD

2012 - Jamie Privratsky MD, PhD and Kevin Riggle, MD

2011 - Lance M. Relland MD, PhD and Cheryl J. Maenpaa, MD

2010 - Jonathan M. Skarie MD, PhD and Corbin D. Sullivan, MD

2009 - Brandon T. Larsen MD, PhD and Christopher R. Henry, MD

2008 - Andrea B. French, MD

2007 - Sakkapol Ongwijitwat MD, PhD and Joseph P. Roche, MD

2006 - Sachin Patel MD, PhD and Michael D. Roseblum MD, PhD

2005 - Timothy J. Nelson MD, PhD

2004 - Matthew J. Riese MD, PhD and Brooke A. King, MD

2003 - Brent L. Fogel MD, PhD and Andrew E. Trochlell, MD

2002 - Jason A. Jarzembowski MD, PhD

2001 - Jonathan M. Bock MD and Anand Krishnan Ganesan MD, PhD

2000 - Stacey A. Strege-Sjoberg MD, PhD and Robert E. Sonnenburg, MD

1999 - David Potter MD, PhD

1998 - Heather A. Stanko, MD

1997 - Richard J. Gumina MD, PhD

1996 - Cathleen M. McCabe, MD

1995 - Grace Clarke, MD

1994 - Paul W. Hruz MD, PhD

1993 - Gerald P. Loushin, MD

1992 - David K. Gaffney MD, PhD

1991 - James P. Thomas MD, PhD

1990 - John Caton, MD

1989    Bert G. Tardieu, MD

1988    Barry J. Roseman, MD

1987    James P. Witter MD, PhD

1986    DuWayne Willett, MD

1985    Jon R. Resar, MD

1984    Mark L. Kadden, MD

1983    Mark I. Freedman, MD

1982    Carol Anne Popp MD, PhD

Contact Information

Medical College of Wisconsin
Dept. of Biochemistry
8701 Watertown Plank Rd.
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Phone: 414-955-8435
Fax: 414-955-6510

Biochemistry Site Map

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 11/13/2014