Cancer Center

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Faculty Disease Committees 

The Faculty Research Disease Committees (FRDC) were created to bring together clinical, translational, and basic research focused on a common disease site.  

This allows us to take advantage of relevant faculty expertise across departments and ensures that clinical trials address scientific goals within each area and the Cancer Center as a whole.  This focus helps optimize resources, improve efficiencies in the process, and stimulates and supports collaborative research ideas.  

Faculty Research Disease Committees, interact, through their leaders, with Clinical Trials Office (CTO) Research Staff Teams.  

The goals and deliverables for each committee are determined by the FRDC Leaders in conjunction with the Cancer Center Director and Associate Director for Clinical Research.  Goals include, but are not limited to; accrual to interventional trials, accrual to investigator initiated trials, cooperative group participation, publications and multidisciplinary grant submissions.  

The overall role of the FRDC Leaders is to: 

  • Recruit clinical researchers to their disease group and Cancer Center membership;
  • Identify opportunities for translation of scientific discovery into clinical trials
  • Design quality clinical trials that will be activated and completed in a timely manner
  • Encourage multidisciplinary interaction including tumor boards and at least monthly research meetings;
  • Mentor Cancer Center members and junior faculty;
  • Assist the CTO Medical Director and CTO Administrative Director in prioritizing CTO resources;
  • Manage the clinical trial portfolio, determining the most efficient allocation of CTO and Cancer Center resources to address goals of the disease group;
  • Address trial progress and toxicities;
  • Prioritize tissue bank requests;
  • Collaborate with the Cancer Service Line Director to develop and promote an efficient, state of the art clinical enterprise with a focus on clinical research;
  • Attend quarterly meetings of the Disease Group Leaders and cancer center leadership to align resources with cancer center goals and set clinical research priorities.


Current Faculty Research Disease Committee Leaders:

* Location for these meetings varies, please contact Katie Glisch at or (414) 805-8298 to confirm meeting location.  

MCW Cancer Center:  Faculty Research Disease Committee Leaders (Initial Chairs in Blue)


Radiation Oncology




Research Manager

Monthly Meeting



Chris Schultz


Timothy Fenske

AA: Alex Leahy

Ph: 805-4617


Deb Pastorek

  • 4th Thursday of every month from 8:00-9:00am
  • Cancer Center conference room *
  • Guest speaker August 22 - RESCHEDULE




Parameswaran Hari

AA: Julia Beerbower

Ph: 805-4602


Deb Pastorek


Colleen Lawton


Marcello Pasquini


Deb Pastorek

  • 4th Wednesday of every month from 4:00-5:00 PM
  • Cancer Center conference room *


Christopher Schultz

Bruce Campbell

Stu Wong

AA: Irene Masters

Ph: 805-4603


Deb Baumgarten

  • TBD


Elizabeth Gore

David Johnstone

AA: Patty Schopp

Ph: 955-6902

Rafael Santana Devila


Deb Baumgarten

  • 4th Thursday of every month from 8:00-9:00am
  • Conference Room J


Beth Erickson

Clark Gamblin

AA: Renee McCoy

Ph: 805-5020

Paul Ritch

Bill Rilling

Phyllis Wattleworth

  • 1st Monday of each month from 5:00-6:00pm
  • Condon Conference Room (Froedtert West, Room 3509)


Beth Erickson

Kirk Ludwig

AA: Lynn Fischer

Ph: 805-1690

Jim Thomas

Paul Knechtes

Phyllis Wattleworth

  • TBD


Colleen Lawton

Peter Langenstroer

AA: Rachel Hackbarth

Ph: 805-0766

Katherine Bylow


Phyllis Wattleworth

  • 4th Tuesday of every month from 8:00-9:00am


Dian Wang

AA: Mary Spoerke

Ph: 805-4477

Donald Hackbarth

John Charlson

Sean Tutton

Deb Baumgarten

  • 4th Wednesday of every month from 8:00-9:00am


Adam Currey

Alonzo Walker

Chris Chitambar

AA: Julia Beerbower

Ph: 805-4602


Phyllis Wattleworth

  • 4th Monday of every month from 7:30-8:30am
  • Conference Room K


Joseph Bovi

Wade Mueller

Mark G Malkin (neuro)

AA: Gail Balisteri

Ph: 805-5204


Deb Baumgarten

  • 2nd Wednesday of each month from 8:30-9:30am
  • Finance Conference Room, 1st Floor, Froedtert West


Beth Erickson

Janet Rader

AA: Kimberly Schuneman

Ph: 805-6606



Phyllis Wattleworth

  • 3rd Thursday of every month from 7:30-8:30am
  • Conference Room K


Frank Wilson

Sam Hwang

AA: Shelly Martin

Ph: 955-3106

Stu Wong


Deb Baumgarten

  • TBD


Selim Firat

David Lal

Mike Kelly

AA: Danielle Logan

Ph: 955-4170





Elizabeth Gore

AA: Noreen Puskarich

Ph: 805-4493

Susan Tsai

Yee Chung Cheng


Deb Baumgarten


© 2015 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 06/13/2014