Otolaryngology & Communication Sciences

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Department News


Physicians from the department receive recognition by Froedtert Leadership for top patient satisfaction scores

Several physicians from the Department of Otolaryngology and Communication Sciences were identified by Froedtert Leadership in 2013 as “Yearly Top Physicians for Patient Satisfaction.” Recipients of this recognition are selected from the entire adult clinical practice. Congratulations to:

Bruce Campbell, MD was a recipient for Top Physicians for Inpatient Satisfaction;

Steve Harvey, MD, Charles Harkins, MD, Ma’Lou Sabino, DDS, Jonathan Bock, MD, Steve Sewall, DDS and David Poetker, MD were recipients for Top Physicians for Specialty Clinic Patient Satisfaction;

David Friedland, MD, PhD was a recipient for Top Physicians for Day Surgery Patient Satisfaction and

Becky Massey, MD and Bruce Campbell, MD were recipients for Top Physicians for Oncology Patient Satisfaction.


Children's Hospital of Wisconsin and MCW open new specialty clinic in Fox Point

Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin and the Medical College of Wisconsin opened a new pediatric specialty clinic in Fox Point on November 12. Valerie Flanary, MD and Tim Martin, MD are seeing patients at the clinic, located at 7950 North Port Washington Road.

Welcome Dr. Sachin S. Pawar

The department is pleased to welcome back Sachin S. Pawar, MD as a faculty member in the Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. A Wisconsin native, Sachin completed his undergraduate studies in information systems analysis and design at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He was self-employed as a technical consultant for four years before changing careers. Sachin was an MCW medical student and extraordinary resident in our training program.

Dr. Pawar is certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology and is board eligible for certification by the American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, following recent completion of fellowship training at the Oregon Health & Science University in Portland.

Dr. Pawar provides a wide range of specialized care for the adult and pediatric patient, including congenital pediatric disorders, on an individual basis and in a confidential environment.


"Shock Away Your Sleep Apnea"

Dr. B. Tucker Woodson was recently featured in a Medical Daily article titled, “Shock Away Your Sleep Apnea: Tiny Electric Pulses to the Tongue Prevent Blocked Airways” for his 2012 study done at MCW on treating Obstructive Sleep Apnea via electric shock. The article discusses how the surgically implanted nerve stimulator helps “shock” the airway open. Full Article

Dr. John Rhee Appointed to ACGME Residency Review Committee for Otolaryngology

Department Chairman, John S. Rhee, MD, MPH, has been appointed to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Residency Review Committee for Otolaryngology.

Residents Presented at the Annual WI Society of Otolaryngology Meeting

MCW otolaryngology residents Drs. Brent Nichols, Corbin Sullivan, Timothy Stoddard and Jad Jabbour presented at the Wisconsin Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Annual Meeting held October 19-20 in Spring Green, WI. The residents are pictured below with keynote speaker, Dr. Rodney Lusk (center).

Please wait while we gather your results.

Otolaryngology News

Dr. Woodson Discusses Impact of Snoring on Sleep and Good Health

Mar 26 - Dr. B. Tucker Woodson provides expert comment in the Huffington Post and Dr. Sanjay Gupta’s Everyday Health on the impact of snoring on sleep and good health. Everyday Health & Huffington Post

Dr. Campbell Expresses Concern over Unknown Risks of Electronic Cigarettes

Mar 18 - Dr. Bruce Campbell notes that there are still too many unknowns about the side effects and risks of exposure to carcinogens posed by electronic cigarettes. Today's TMJ4

Dr. Ebert Receives Families of Spinal Muscular Atrophy Grant

Feb 25 - Families of Spinal Muscular Atrophy announced that Allison Ebert, PhD, is one of eight scientists worldwide who will share in $600,000 in basic science research awards to study the disorder. Families of SMA

Dr. Kerschner Comments on Use of Topical Antibiotics to Treat Ear Tube-Related Infections

Feb 25 - In a New York Times article, Dr. Joseph Kerschner provides expert comment on a New England Journal of Medicine study that found that in children with ear tubes, topical antibiotics drops are more effective in treating leaky discharge caused by ear infection than oral antibiotics or observation. The New York Times

Study Finds Drops are Best Treatment for Ear Tube-Related Dripping

Feb 20 - The New York Times interviewed Joseph E. Kerschner, MD, Executive Vice President of MCW and Dean of the medical school, regarding a new study about how to treat children with ear tubes who have consistent discharge from the ears. New York Times

© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 02/07/2014