Emergency Medicine

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

About the Department

We established an independent academic Department of Emergency Medicine in 1993.  Our faculty, residents, and mid-levels practice in a new state-of-the-art patient centered clinical facility at Froedtert Hospital.  We have nationally and internationally recognized clinical researchers, and are ranked as one of the top 20 National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded Departments of Emergency Medicine.  Our Department hosts three NIH and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) funded research centers including the Resuscitation Research Center (RRC), Neurological Emergency Treatment Trials, and the Injury Research Center (IRC), and is engaged in several federally funded multi-center studies.

Our Department also has nationally and internationally recognized experts in Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Trauma, and Disaster Medicine.  We provide medical direction for many regional EMS agencies including serving as medical directors for Milwaukee County and the City of Kenosha.  Milwaukee County was recognized as a national model for medical oversight of an EMS system in the recent Institutes of Medicine report on emergency medicine.

We hope you find everything you are looking for on our website.  Please contact us with any questions.

© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 11/10/2014