General Internal Medicine

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  
Program Director and Faculty

Program faculty are faculty members at the Medical College  of Wisconsin Departments of Medicine, Gynecology, Family Medicine, Urology, Surgery, and Psychiatry and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Nursing.

Program Director:

Kathryn Havens, MD: Dr. Havens is the director of women’s health at the Zablocki VA . In this role she is responsible for the Women’s Health clinic as well as the ongoing development of gender specific programs for patients.  She created and then directed a clinically-oriented women’s health fellowship for six years.  Dr. Havens offers her extensive experience as a clinical mentor to students, residents, and fellows to mentor VA women’s health fellows and encourage creative participation in the VA patient-centered team.

Associate Program Director:

Jeffrey L. Jackson, MD, MPH: Dr. Jackson has more than ten years of experience directing a general medicine fellowship, mentoring dozens of fellows and fifty oral presentations.  Dr. Jackson has published several papers involving a variety of DOD and civilian databases including NHANES, NAMCS, CMRP, among others, primarily in the areas of depression and anxiety in primary care, meta-analysis, patient-physician communication, and patient centered care.  He has created a robust curriculum for academic fellows in developing research and education projects.

Psychology Faculty:

Director of Training Programs, pre- and post-doctoral psychology
Jim Hart, MD

Heather Smith, MD: Heather Smith, Ph.D. is Lead Psychologist at the Zablocki VA Medical Center (VAMC) and Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin.  Dr. Smith is fellowship trained in Geropsychology, and therefore is available to provide consultation to fellows on issues related to mental health in older women.  In addition, Dr. Smith serves on the Psychology Training Committee and is available to provide supervision and mentorship to fellows as indicated.

Women’s Health Psychology
Colleen Heinkel

Nursing Faculty:

Nurse Research Scientist
Mary Hagle

Other Faculty:

Faculty with Expertise in Women’s Health Research

  1. Joan Neuner MD MPH (AHRQ-funded osteoporosis researcher)
  2. Ann Nattinger MD MPH  (NIH-funded breast cancer researcher)
  3. Edith Burns MD (expert in geriatric women’s health)
  4. Mary Jo Baisch PhD RN (community and public health)
  5. Loren Galvao MD MPH (women’s health, reducing health disparities)
  6. Peninnah Kako PhD RN FNP BC APNP (access and outcomes for low income women in US and Africa)
  7. Sally Lundeen PhD RN FAAN  (primary health care models, health equity, clinical informatics for practice and research)
  8. Karen Morin DSN RN FAAN (obesity in pregnancy, gender issues in health care, graduate clinical education models)
  9. Rachel Schiffman PhD RN FAAN (maternal child interaction)

Faculty with Expertise in Educational Design and Evaluation

  1. Susan Davids MD MPH (Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine Program)
  2. Jerome Van Ruiswyk MD MPH (ACOS, Educational Programs)


Faculty with Expertise in Clinical Women’s Health

  1. Jasna Jevtic MD, FACP (general internist precepting residents  in women’s health clinic)
  2. Raj Narayan MD, FRCOG, FACOG (gynecologist practicing at the Zablocki VA)
  3. Sumana Koduri MD (urogynecologist practicing at the Zablocki VA)
  4. Phillip Redlich MD, PhD (breast surgeon practicing at the Zablocki VA)
  5. Paul Lemen MD (general obstetrician-gynecologist and Program Director of Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program)
  6. Kathy King MD, MS (general obstetrician-gynecologist and Co-Director of the Women’s Health Elective for students)
  7. Polina Kaplunsky MD (psychiatrist specializing in women’s mental health needs of veterans)
  8. Jennifer Mackinnon MD (general internist with experience in women’s health)

Faculty with Expertise in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety

  1. Geoffrey Lamb, MD (Associate Director of the Joint Quality Office on MCW’s campus and Co-Investigator of MCW’s faculty development program)
  2. Kathlyn Fletcher MD (Program Director, Zablocki Safety Chief Resident Program)
  3. Jerome Van Ruiswyk MD, MPH (led many VA quality programs)

Fellow Benefits and Support

Medical College of Wisconsin General Internal Medicine Women's Health Fellowship Benefits & Support Information

How To Apply

Information on how to apply for Medical College of Wisconsin General Internal Medicine Women's Health Fellowship
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 06/24/2014