Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Graduate Student Association

The Graduate Student Association (GSA) of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences provides a democratic form of self-government by and for the graduate students at the Medical College of Wisconsin. It provides a mechanism for voicing collective graduate student opinions to the faculty and administration while aiding in the dissemination of information to graduate students. These mechanisms along with other organizational planning help GSA promote and encourage fellowship among students enrolled in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Jessica Olson

GSA Newsletter Archive

Election Information

The election process occurs annually in May. Member profiles and voting takes place on ANGEL. The newly elected Representative Council will assume their respective offices on June 1. The term for all Representative Council positions is one year. There are no term limits.

Officers:

All graduate students that have completed 2 years in a degree granting program administered by the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences are eligible for election to Officer Positions.

All Medical College of Wisconsin graduate students can nominate and vote for Officer Candidates.

Program Representatives:

All members of the Graduate Student Association are eligible for election to Program Representative of their respective program.

Each program holds an election concurrent with the Officer election, in which all degree seeking or interdisciplinary students of that program are eligible to vote.

Student Assembly Representatives:

The (Medical) Student Assembly appoints one Representative to represent their interests in the
Graduate Student Association.

Advisory Board Members:

The Representative Council elects a Faculty Advisor and a Past President. 
The Graduate Studies Council elects an additional Faculty Advisor. 
The Director of Enrollment is appointed to the Graduate Student Association.


2013-2014 GSA Members

The Graduate Student Association is composed of committed degree-seeking students
in programs administered by the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Officers

President - Jessica Priestley    
jpriestley@mcw.edu

Vice President - Maciej Czarnecki
mczarnecki@mcw.edu

Treasurer - Melissa Wilk
mwilk@mcw.edu

Secretary - Megan Determan
mdeterman@mcw.edu

Representatives

Biochemistry - Amanda Nevins, amnevins@mcw.edu

Biophysics - Casey Anderson, casanderson@mcw.edu

Biostatistics - Ying Zhang, yizhang@mcw.edu

Cell Biology - Amber Petersen, apetersen@mcw.edu

IDP-Biomedical Sciences - Rick Armstrong, rarmstrong@mcw.edu

Microbiology - Sheryl Konrad, slkonrad@mcw.edu

MSTP - Megan Determan, mdeterman@mcw.edu

Neuroscience - Natalie Nawarawong, nnawarawong@mcw.edu

Pharmacology and Toxicology - Patrick Gonyo, pgonyo@mcw.edu

Physiology - Jessica Olson, jeolson@mcw.edu

Public and Community Health - Dina Garcia, dtgarcia@mcw.edu

2013-2014 Social Coordinators

Amanda Nevins, amnevins@mcw.edu
Rick Armstrong, rarmstrong@mcw.edu

Advisory Board

Faculty Advisor - Lisa Cirillo, Ph.D. - lcirillo@mcw.edu

GSC Faculty Advisor - Neil Hogg, nhogg@mcw.edu

Graduate School Advisor - Susan Barnes, sbarnes@mcw.edu

webmaster@mcw.edu
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 06/26/2014