Healthier WI Partnership Program

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Thursday, May 8, 2014
9:00 - 4:00

Sheraton Milwaukee Hotel
Brookfield, Wisconsin

Purpose: The Medical College of Wisconsin’s (MCW) Advancing a Healthier Wisconsin Endowment (AHW) has concluded ten years of programming, distributing more than $160.3 million for funded projects and initiatives to improve Wisconsin’s health. AHW will sponsor a conference to highlight and promote the successes and lessons learned of those funded efforts. The conference will highlight the scope of funded education, research, and community-academic partnership projects and provide opportunities for collaboration among and between partners. AHW will also be providing additional information related to the 2014-2018 Five-Year Plan, moving from Grantmaker to Changemaker, by designing strategies for maximizing impact and improving evaluation.


  • To build public support through dissemination of project results, achievements and lessons learned.
  • To highlight the scope and variety of community-engaged partnerships, research projects and educational collaboration formed over the past ten years.
  • To promote informal discussions and the exchange of ideas among participants regarding their goals and efforts related to the AHW mission and vision.
  • To provide opportunities for researchers, educators and community-based organizations to connect and network around community-engaged research project and partnerships.
  • To inform participants of the strategies outlined in the AHW 2014-2018 Five-Year Plan that will maximize impact to improve health outcomes for Wisconsin residents.

Conference Registration

This is no cost to attend the conference, but advance registration is required.

Proceed to the registration page >>

Keynote Presenter

Roberta B. Ness, MD, MPH

M. David Low Chair in Public Health

Vice President for Innovation
The University of Texas School of Public Health

Roberta B. Ness, MD, MPH is an internationally recognized expert in medicine and public health. She is dean of The University of Texas School of Public Health, one of the largest such Schools in the nation. Dr. Ness holds the M. David Low Chair in Public Health and is a professor in the Division of Epidemiology, Human Genetics and Environmental Science. She is an adjunct professor in the Department of Epidemiology at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and at the University of Pittsburgh and adjunct professor in the Departments of Medicine and Obstetrics and Gynecology at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston. Dr. Ness is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, member of the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas and the Texas Philosophical Society, and member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science.

Dr. Ness was formerly chair of the Department of Epidemiology at the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health where she was a professor of epidemiology, medicine, and obstetrics & gynecology. She served as interim dean from 2005-2006. Prior to joining the Pittsburgh faculty in 1993 she was on the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Ness received her MD from Cornell University and her MPH from Columbia University. She has been at the forefront of women’s health research, being one of the first to propose the research paradigm now termed “gender based biology” in her book entitled, Health and Disease among Women (1999). In 325 peer-reviewed publications and over 20 federally funded grants, Dr. Ness has explored the epidemiology of ovarian cancer, preeclampsia, and pelvic inflammatory disease; adverse pregnancy and perinatal outcomes; links between reproductive history and cardiovascular disease; and bacterial sexually transmitted infections. Dr. Ness is also known for her work on teaching innovation. She is currently principal investigator on a training grant on innovative thinking funded by the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT). She recently authored Innovation Generation, an instructional program for innovative thinking (Oxford U Press) and Genius Unmasked, the story of genius scientists of the 20th century and how they thought. Dr. Ness has been an advisor to the National Institutes for Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, NASA, and the Department of Defense. She has been a committee member or chair for half a dozen Institute of Medicine, National Academies’ reports and has provided expert testimony to many more.

Dr. Ness is President of the prestigious American Epidemiologic Society and past-President of the American College of Epidemiology. She was founding chair of the Joint Policy Committee of the Societies of Epidemiology – the first organization to coordinate joint policy actions among 14 epidemiology societies. Dr. Ness is an Associate Editor of the American Journal of Epidemiology, and on the editorial boards of Annals of Epidemiology, and WHO STD Bulletin. She is an elected member of the prestigious American Society for Clinical Investigation, Delta Omega Honorary, and the American Epidemiologic Society. Other honors include a 1996 Leadership Award from the Family Health Council; 2006 Laureate Award from the American College of Physicians; 2013 Petersdorf Lecture at the annual meeting of the American Association of Medical Colleges; and 2013 Snow Award from the American Public Health Association. She was selected by the Society for General Internal Medicine as the 2008 Distinguished Professor of Women’s Health. In 2011 she was named as a U.S. Presidential appointee to the Mickey Leland Center for Environmental Air Toxicant Research.


Subject to Change




Conference Check-In


Conference Welcome


Dedicated Time for Poster Presentations




Breakout Sessions - Block One
Highlighting Previously Funded Projects




Breakout Sessions - Block Two
Highlighting Previously Funded Projects



Keynote Presentation on Innovation
by Roberta B. Ness, MD, MPH

Presentation of AHW 2014-2018 Five-Year Plan




Breakout Sessions - Block Three
Sessions on Innovation, Transformation & Collaboration




AHW Excellence Award Presentation
and Closing Remarks
























For any questions, please contact Michelle Smith-Beckley at (414) 955-8410 or e-mail at
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 04/03/2014