Giving to MCW

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Medical College of Wisconsin Center Boards

The Advisory Boards of the Medical College of Wisconsin play a critical role in increasing commu­nity awareness of the College’s major programs and raising private funds. The Advisory Boards include Wisconsin’s top business, professional and civic leaders who are committed to advancing medical research at the College.

Medical research is the necessary step to discovering improved methods to diagnose, treat and ultimately cure and prevent diseases. Private support is more important than ever as competition increases for federal grant support.

The fundraising efforts of Advisory Board members have supported:

  • Seed funding, which allows researchers to develop a track record to compete for and leverage long-term federal funds. Seed funds have led to and will continue to lead to larger federal or private agency grants that have the potential to result in breakthrough treatments and cures for disease. Bridge funding for researchers while they renew grants.
  • Advanced training for physicians and scientists.
  • The purchase of research equipment.
  • Professorships and fellowships for conducting research.


Cancer Center Board
Digestive Disease Center Board
Cardiovascular Center Board
Neuroscience Center Board

Cancer Center Board

Wm. O. Steinberg

Founding Co-Chairs
† Melodie Wilson Oldenburg
† Frank J. Pelisek

Terry W. Anderson
Ginny Bolger
Deanna Braeger
Elizabeth Friedman
W. Scott Gray
† Christine Hamilton Foote
Leila Hanson
Gwen T. Jackson
Geneva Bolton Johnson
Marina Krejci
Missy Webster Levit
Joan Lubar
P. Michael Mahoney
William Mulligan
Sue Northey
Morgan Oldenburg
Linda Rieke
Mark Sabljak
Rick Schmidt
Peggy Schuemann
Don Shane

Joan S. Stein
Nicole Teweles
Sandra Millon Underwood, RN, PhD
W. Kent Velde
Les Weil
Barbara M. Whealon
Cathy White
Arlene A. Wilson
Sally Youker
Diane Zore

Emeritus Members
† Ann E. Heil
Randolph T. Myricks
† Philip W. Orth
Richard A. Van Deuren

Ming You, MD, PhD

† deceased

 Digestive Disease Center Board

Paul J. Siepmann

Founding Chair
† Robert H. Friebert

Ruth H. Brash
Mary C. Brown, CFA
David P. Dauchy
Karin M. Gale
Laura M. Gralton
Linda L. Grunau
Doris H. Heiser
Madeline Henry
Rosalie Leib
Dr. Jan Lennon
Timothy S. O'Malley
Bonnie H. Ornst
David J. Raysich
Paul J. Siepmann
† Mia Toska
Rajiv R. Varma, MD

† deceased

Louise Walsh
Bryan Waltersdorf
Carol A. Wuesthoff
Gayle A. Yeko
Erika G. Zaiser

Emeritus Members
Morry L. Birnbaum
Barbara K. Boxer
Douglas S. Levy
†Walter J. Mahler, Jr.
Joyce Myers
Robert L. Schlossmann
Barbara B. Zaiser

Reza Shaker, MD
Manu Sood, MBBS


 Cardiovascular Center Advisory Board

Kristine H. Cleary

Vice Chair
Bruce M. Smith

Founding Chair
Bruce E. Jacobs

† Ned Bechthold
Sally Bentley
Priscilla Boelter
† Charles Brumder
Marybeth Budisch
Carl (Chip) Burghardt
Cellene Byrne
Dominic Colonna
Francis R. Croak
Gael Garbarino Cullen
Mark Curran
Byron T. Foster
Frederic G. Friedman
Ellen Glaisner
Linda Gorens-Levey
Eckhart Grohmann
Barry Grossman
Gordon H. Gunnlaugsson
Stanley F. Hack
Mikel Holt
Lynnea Katz-Petted
Sarah Wright Kimball

John Kirchgeorg
Dr. Vincent Kuttemperoor
William H. Levit, Jr.
Daniel F. McKeithan, Jr.
Daniel M. Muchin
John K. Schultz
Nancy J. Sennett
Sonia Shields Stowe
Dale A. Thoma
Eric Von
Nicholas C. Wilson
Gary V. Zimmerman, FAIA

Emeritus Members
James D. Bell
William D. Browne
John J. Burke, Jr

Ivor J. Benjamin, MD

† deceased


 Neuroscience Center Advisory Board

T. Michael Bolger, JD
James M. Holcomb

John Anderson
John Bosbous
Mary Brennan-Druml
Al Costigan
Brian D. Eckrose
Andy Fleckenstein
Jan Fleckenstein
William C. Ihlenfeld II
Eugene T. Jacobus
Dr. Jan Lennon
Warren D. Pierson
Kathleen Poblocki

George Prescott
Dr. Bryon Riesch
Melanie Roach-Bekos
Mary Hill Taibl
Bonnie Timarac
Benjamin Wagner

Cecilia Hillard, PhD

Ex Officio
Julie Kerk
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 11/24/2014