EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  


The Department of Medicine held their annual Banquet on June 4th, 2010 at the Crowne Plaza. Over 250 faculty and housestaff were in attendance that evening to celebrate the achievements of the departing housestaff. As a surprise to everyone, Dr. Dick Olds and his wife Jackie were also present!

Dr. Ann Nattinger opened the evening with a few words thanking everyone for coming and acknowledging the housestaff that were completing their training. Dr. Lee Biblo who was nominated by the residents to be the guest speaker, then gave a well-received and moving talk using the anonymous quote “My family is most important to me, Medicine is only my job” as the basis. Dr. Biblo skillfully intertwined how a physician not only has their immediate family, but also how, as a physician, you become involved in your patient’s family as well, and how rewarding that experience can be.

Following the keynote address, Dr. Mike Frank acknowledged the residents who completed their training this year. The fellowship program directors then approached the podium and acknowledged the fellows who also completed their training. After the housestaff were recognized, the exciting part of the evening arrived----announcement of the Award Winners! The awards are voted on by the residents, and are traditionally presented at this event. Of note, Rheumatology won the Best Teaching, Elective Rotation for the second year in a row!

Now it was time to acknowledge the Chief Residents for all of their work and effort over the past year. Dr. Nattinger gave the floor to Dr. Olds for a few words about the Chief Residents. After Dr. Nattinger spoke kind words about Jason Gonzaga, Karri Huber, Jon Kushi, and Stephanie Momper, she presented them with their certificates and an iPad as a token of the Department’s appreciation.

Finally, the night concluded with the traditional video that the Chief Residents put together each year. It was a touching film, interspersing comic bits with photos and video clips of the residents from this past year all against a soundtrack that included songs from, among others, Journey and Natalie Merchant.

2010 Department of Medicine Banquet Award Winners
Congratulations to the following award winners!

Best Teaching, Required Rotation: MICU
Best Teaching, Elective Rotation: Rheumatology
Best Teaching Award, New Faculty: Aaron Dall, MD
Best Teaching Award, Senior Faculty, Froedtert: Jose Franco, MD
Best Teaching Award, Senior Faculty, ZVAMC: Kathlyn Fletcher, MD
Best Teaching Award, St. Joseph Regional Medical Center: Venkata Allada, MD
Best Inpatient Teaching Award: Marty Muntz, MD
Best Ambulatory Teaching Award: Monica Ziebert, MD, DDS
Best Teaching Award, Fellow: Jayshil Patel, MD
Preliminary Intern of the Year: Jordan Kharofa, MD
Categorical/Combined Intern of the Year: Zubin Lathara, MD
James M. Cerletty, MD Excellence in Medicine Award: Sara Torgerson, DO
Carl L. Junkerman, MD Award of Merit: Michael Curley, MD
Resident Appreciation Award: Elizabeth Bertschy, Communicator
© 2015 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 06/27/2011