EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Year-End Celebration

End of the year! Those words often indicate a completion, “wrap-up” or celebration. In the Department of Medicine, end of the year designates graduation for preliminary, categorical and combined program internal medicine residents and also fellows who have concluded the program in their respective division.

To signify this occasion, the 2011 Department of Medicine Banquet was held on Friday evening, June 10th at the Crowne Plaza Milwaukee. The evening began with a cocktail reception for the graduates and their guests along with several faculty members. Dr. Ann Nattinger, Professor and Interim Chair, began the evening with welcome remarks and congratulations to the graduates. Dinner was served followed by presentation of the Faculty and Division awards. Dr Nattinger announced Drs. Jack Kaufman and Michael Keelan to Emeritus status and spoke of their extensive and significant careers with the Medical College. The following awards were then presented

  • The Murphy Award for Clinical Excellence: Monica Ziebert, MD, DDS
  • The Engstrom Award for Clinical Contribution: Parameswaran Hari, MD
  • The Ford-Silver Award for Clinical Excellence : Anne E. Blaha, APNP
  • Excellence in Research: Jeffrey Wesson, MD, PhD
  • Excellence in Research: William R. Drobyski, MD
  • Best Teaching on a Ward Rotation: MICU
  • Best Teaching on an Elective Rotation: Infectious Disease
  • Best Teacher New Faculty: Joshua Meskin, MD
  • Best Teacher at St. Joseph Regional Medical Center: Aproor Broov, MD
  • Best Teacher-Senior Faculty
  • Froedtert: James Kleczka, MD
  • Zablocki VA Medical Center: John Hayes, MD
  • St. Joseph’s Regional Medical Center: Apoorv Broor, MD
  • Best Teacher Inpatient Setting: Rahul Nanchal, MD
  • Best Teacher Ambulatory Setting: Jaishree Hariharan, MD

Dr. Nattinger then reflected on the passing of two faculty members in the past year. Dr. Joseph Beres, Associate Professor in the Division of Nephrology and Dr. Robert Maglio, Assistant Professor of General Internal Medicine.

Dr. Michael Keelan, who was selected by the graduating residents as the Keynote Speaker, then presented a reflective talk on “Fifty and Counting” where he highlighted meaningful events in his lengthy career as a cardiovascular medicine physician.

Dr. Nattinger and Dr. Michael Frank, Residency Program Director then presented the Housestaff Awards to the following individuals:

  • Resident Appreciation Award: Jean Christofferson-Medical Assistant Lead-Westbrook
  • Best Teaching Fellow: Amit Taneja, MD (Pulmonary)
  • Categorical/Combined Program Intern of the Year Award: Sana Gafoor, DO
  • Preliminary Intern Award: Stephanie Markovina, MD, PhD
  • Excellence in Medicine: The James M. Cerletty: Tessa Damm, DO
  • Award of Merit: The Carl Junkerman Award: Jessica Kuester, MD

Following a brief intermission, Drs. Nattinger, Frank and program directors from the residency and fellowship programs introduced the graduates and noted the next step in their career. Dr. Nattinger then recognized the Chief Residents, Adrienne Barnosky, DO, Michael Curley, MD, Molly Kleiman, MD and Jaren Thomas MD.

Finally, the much anticipated traditional Chief Resident film and slide show was shown to the delight of everyone. Set as a newscast, the film featured the Chiefs as news correspondents reporting on various events which occurred on the hospital wards.

The faculty and staff in the Department of Medicine extend our heartfelt best wishes to all of our graduating residents and fellows. It has been a pleasure to work with you and to participate in your educational experience. Congratulations!
To view photos of the event, please click on the following link:

DOM Banquet photos

Article written by Kathy A. Rafel, Program Coordinator

Fellowship Match – Department of Medicine

On Wednesday, June 15th the fellowship programs received their match results for fellowships beginning July 1, 2012. We are very excited about the results and are very pleased with the quality of residents that we matched into our programs. Below is the list of residents that will be starting in each fellowship program as well as information regarding changes in the match for 2013.

Marat Gadzhiev, MD – University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
Payal Patel, MD – Loyola Medical Center, Maywood, IL

Brian Aebly, MD – Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Milwaukee, WI
Easa Al-ghandour, MD – Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island/Alpert Medical School of Brown University Pawtucket, RI
Samih Mawari, MD – SIU-SOM, Springfield, IL
Vijaya Sivalingam Ramalingam, MD – University of Illinois, Urbana- Champaign, IL

Zin OO, MD – Richmond University Medical Center, Staten Island, NY
Nisha Sheth, MD – St. Vincent’s Hospital, Indianapolis, IN

Ayan Rage, MD – Case Western Reserve University/Metrohealth Campus, Cleveland, OH
Alex Seamon, MD – University of Florida, Gainesville, FL

Thomas Giever, DO – Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Milwaukee, WI
Tara Kroll, DO – Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Milwaukee, WI
Namrata Peswani, MD – Saint Vincent Hospital, Worcester, MA

Subhankar Maitra, MD – Maimonides Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY
Vinh Nguyen, MD – St. Elizabeth Health Center, Youngstown, OH
Ramapriya Sinnakirouchenan, MD – University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL
Lily Kristine Sunio, MD – Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

Ashine Abinet, MD – Jersey Shore University Medical Center, Neptune, NJ
Christopher Mueller, MD – Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Milwaukee, WI
Steven Peterson, MD – University of Colorado, Aurora, CO
Orhan Sancaktar, MD – University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL
Mitchell Timmons, DO – Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Milwaukee, WI

Katarzyna Zarnecki, DO – Advocate Lutheran General Hospital, Park Ridge, IL


The fellowship match for positions beginning July 2013 has been moved. The idea is to give applicants an additional six months to make decisions about fellowship choices. The new schedule is as follows:

  • Match Opens August 1, 2012
  • Rank Order List Opens October 10, 2012
  • Quota Change Deadline November 7, 2012
  • Rank Order List Closes November 14, 2012
  • Match Day December 5, 2012
  • Fellows Begin July 1, 2013

It is anticipated that ERAS will open for applications in July 2012 and that most fellowship programs will interview in August—October that year.


Article written by: Robin Karst – Medical Education Coordinator II – Educational Programs
© 2015 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 08/01/2011