EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  

Internal Medicine-Neurology Combined Residency Program

The combined Internal Medicine-Neurology residency program at the Medical College of Wisconsin began in July 1997 and graduated its first resident in June 2002. It totals 5 years in duration, with graduates eligible for board certification by both the American Board of Internal Medicine and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. The Med-Neuro residents spend 30 months in each discipline which includes continuity clinic sessions. Graduates of our program have been able to either join private practice, or pursue further subspecialty training in fields where the two disciplines complement each other. The program is such that residents are able to fulfill their requirements for dual-board eligibility while tailoring their elective time based on individual interests. We strive to ensure that the Med-Neuro residents receive the same broad exposure to general and subspecialty patient care issues as the categorical residents in each department, while enjoying flexibility to pursue their own particular career goals.

The general schedule of rotations per year is as follows:

  Internal Medicine Neurology
PGY-1 10 months 2 months
PGY-2 6 months 6 months
PGY-3 6 months 6 months
PGY-4 5 months 7 months
PGY-5 3 months 9 months


For more information:
Jennifer Connelly, MD
Neurology Residency Program Director
(414) 805-5254

(Link to Medicine webpage)

Med-Neuro Graduates:

2011, Julia Durrant

2010, Dhruvil Pandya

2009, Santiago Ortega

2009, Prem Kandiah

2002, Purath, MD
Neurology Private Practice, Wisconsin

2003, Diana Fernandez, MD
Neurology Private Practice, North Carolina

2004, Richard Temes, MD
Neurocritical Care Fellowship, Columbia University

2005, Marcus Chacon, MD
Vascular Neurology Fellowship, UC-San Diego

Errol Gordon, MD

2006, Errol Gordon, MD
Neurocritical Care Fellowship, Columbia University

2008, Jennifer Connelly, MD
Neuro-Oncology Fellowship, Medical College of Wisconsin
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 06/17/2014