Department of Ophthalmology
Clinical Conference Schedule
October 2015

All Lectures held at 7 - 7:45 a.m., in the Eye Institute’s Lower Level Conference Room unless otherwise stated.


Thursday Oct. 1: Pediatrics Lecture:  Exotropia, Tracey Strombeck, OD

Friday Oct. 2: Optics Lecture:  Adaptive Optics, Scott E. Robison, OD

Monday Oct. 5: Morning Rounds:  Drs. Kassem, Griepentrog, & Wirostko

Tuesday Oct 6: No Lecture

Wednesday Oct 7 7:00 – 8:30 a.m.   GRAND ROUNDS: Establishing the Irish Diabetic Retinopathy Screening and Treatment Program (RetinaScreen) and MicroRNA Biomarkers in Age Related Macular Degeneration

David Keegan, PhD, FRCOphth, FRCSI(Oph)
Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon Mater Misericordiae University Hospital and Mater Private Hospital
Honorary Consultant Vitreo-retinal Surgeon Temple Street Children’s University Hospital

Thursday Oct. 8: Retina Lecture:  ARMD:  Etiology/Classification, Thomas B. Connor, Jr., MD

Friday, Oct 9: Retina:  Fellow/Resident Teaching Meeting

Monday, Oct 12: Morning Rounds: Drs. Khammar, Esmaili, Stepien

Tuesday, Oct. 13: Anterior Segment Lecture:  Topic TBA, Steven B. Koenig, MD

Wednesday, Oct 14: Faculty Development – Guest Speaker, Carlyle Chan, MD, Professor of Psychiatry, MCW: " Avoiding Death by PowerPoint: Strategies for Effective Lecturing". For Faculty and Residents

Thursday, Oct. 15: Fluorescein Angiography Conference, Dennis P. Han, MD

Friday, Oct. 16: Oculoplastics Conference, Gregory J. Griepentrog, MD

Monday, Oct. 19: Faculty Candidate Lecture: "Drops, Shots, Pills, and Beyond:  Treatment Options in Uveitis", Laura J. Kopplin, MD, OHSU

Tuesday, Oct. 20: Neuro-Ophthalmology Lecture: CN VI Anatomy & Disorders, Bernd Remler, MD

Milwaukee Ophthalmological Society Meeting, 6pm social / 6:45 dinner. Glaucoma Imaging: Current Pitfalls, Future Potential, Edward M. Barnett, MD, PhD
University Club, 924 E. Wells St., MKE

Wednesday, Oct. 21: No Lecture

5:30 p.m.   Cataract Conference:  Astigmatism Management in Cataract Surgery, Michael Raciti, MD

Thursday, Oct. 22: Retina Lecture:  Topic TBA, David V. Weinberg, MD
Friday, Oct. 23: Oculoplastics Lecture:   Involutional Ptosis, Dermatochalasis, and Brow Ptosis, Timothy S. Wells, MD

Monday, Oct. 26, Morning Rounds:  Drs. Wilkes, Hong, Kim

Tuesday, Oct. 27: Glaucoma Lecture:  Cyclophotocoagulation, Edward M. Barnett, MD

LL Break Room    EI physicians, MCW/FMLH staff who need TB test

Wednesday, Oct. 28 !! 7:00 a.m.   !!  MANDATORY Resident Workflow (EPIC) Update – ALL Faculty and Residents !!

Following above mtg: Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Conference: Michael Eddins, MD (if time allows)

7:30 – 8:30 a.m.   FLU SHOT Mini-Clinic – flu shots only

Thursday, Oct. 29: Fluorescein Angiography Conference, Judy E. Kim, MD

Friday, Oct. 30: Oculoplastics Lecture:  Congenital Ptosis and Associated Syndromes, Sang H. Hong, MD


All Lectures held in the Eye Institute’s Lower Level Conference Room unless otherwise stated.

Contact Us

Clinical Lecture Series

Leslie Bencivenga, Medical Education Coordinator
(414) 955-7876 (Office) or Email
(414) 955-6300 (FAX)


Registration Online for CME Activities:


Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 10/06/2015