Office of Public Affairs

Office of Public Affairs

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  
Share |

Dr. Diane Braza accepted into national women’s executive leadership program

Her selection continues MCW’s strong representation in program, with 12 faculty members chosen in past 16 years

May 09, 2013 Collge News - Diane W. Braza, MD, Chair of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PM&R) and Residency Program Director for PM&R, is among 54 senior female faculty members from across the United States and Canada to be selected to participate in the 2013-2014 Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® (ELAM) Program for Women.

“Dr. Braza has demonstrated significant dedication to, and interest in, continued development as a critical leader since her early years as a faculty member here,” said Joseph E. Kerschner, MD, Dean of the Medical School and Executive Vice President of the Medical College of Wisconsin.  “As a thought leader, Dr. Braza has served as Chair on the Medical College’s Women’s Faculty Council – where she championed the need for an Individual Development Plan as a critical step in academic progress; this initiative was eventually adopted throughout MCW.  She also has served in long-standing leadership roles with MCW’s Faculty Career Development Committee.  We congratulate Dr. Braza on this distinguished and well-deserved honor.  Additionally, the Medical College of Wisconsin is proud to continue its long-standing tradition of supporting female faculty members who wish to attain leadership positions.”

ELAM is a core program of the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership at Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia.  The one-year program prepares senior women faculty for leadership at academic health centers. The curriculum combines traditional MBA training, such as finance and organizational theory, which is oriented toward the academic health center environment. It also incorporates activities that enhance personal and professional development around leadership, career advancement, communication, and the use of information and learning technologies.

Dr. Braza was named Chair of PM&R in November 2012 after serving for 14 months in the Interim Chair position.   She joined the faculty of The Medical College of Wisconsin in 1992 as an Assistant Clinical Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and served as Medical Director of Froedtert and The Medical College of Wisconsin SpineCare Program from 1995-2011.  Dr. Braza has significant medical student teaching experience as both a course director and a clinical rotation director.  She has served as a course director and lecturer for numerous residents and fellows in areas including physiatric therapeutics and spine care.  Most recently, as PM&R Residency Program Director, she had led the transformation of the residency educational curriculum in her department.  

The 11 additional MCW faculty members chosen for this fellowship include:

  • Ann K. Rosenthal, MD, FACP, Will and Cava Ross Professor of Medicine, Chief, Division of Rheumatology and Interim Chief of Medicine, Zablocki VA Medical Center (2012-2013)
  • Julie A. Panepinto, MD, MSPH (2011-2012)
    Professor of Pediatrics (Hematology/ Oncology)
    Director for Clinical Effectiveness Research
  • Marilyn M. Schapira, MD, MPH* (2010-2011)
    Professor, Department of Medicine
    Interim Director of the Center for Patient Care and Outcomes Research (PCOR)
  • Patricia A. Donohoue, MD (2009-2010)
    Chief, Section of Endocrinology
    Department of Pediatrics
  • Beth A. Drolet, MD (2008-2009)
    Professor and Vice Chair
    Department of Dermatology
    Clinical Vice President of Ambulatory Services
    Medical Director of Birthmarks and Vascular Anomalies, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
  • Judy R. Kersten, MD (2006-2007)
    Professor and Senior Vice Chair
    Department of Anesthesiology
    Senior Medical Director of Anesthesia Services
  • Mary F. Otterson, MD, MS (2004-2005)
    Department of Surgery
  • Gabriele E. Sonnenberg, MD* (2002-2003)
    Department of Medicine
  • Earnestine Willis, MD, MPH (1998-1999)
    Kellner Professor in Pediatrics
    Department of Pediatrics
    Director, Center for Advancement of Underserved Children
    Director, Division of Health Equity and Urban Clinical Care Partnerships
  • Karen J. Marcdante, MD (1997-1998)
    Department of Pediatrics
  • Julie Freischlag, MD* (1996-1997)
    Department of Surgery

*Not a current member of the MCW faculty, but participated in the program as a MCW faculty member

Additionally, Paula M. Termuhlen, MD, MCW Professor of Surgery (Surgical Oncology), Program Director of the General Surgery Residency Program and Faculty Leader, Community Medical Education Program, received a 2008-2009 ELAM award when she was Chief, Department of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology at Wright State University Boonschoft School of Medicine in Dayton, Ohio.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 07/23/2013