MCW-Central Wisconsin Community Advisory Board members named

Jan. 24, 2014 College News - The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) has named community advisory board members for MCW-Central Wisconsin.  The community advisory board will assist MCW in developing and implementing the new regional campus in Central Wisconsin, which is expected to matriculate students in fall 2016.

MCW’s regional campus in Central Wisconsin addresses the need for providers in medically underserved communities across Wisconsin and employs an immersive teaching model in which students receive core basic science and clinical experience in the community. It will utilize an interprofessional team model with other practitioners, and encourage students to practice in the communities where they are training.  A national search for a campus dean is ongoing.

The community advisory board members represent healthcare and academic partners of the school, as well as civic leaders representing education and commerce.

The community advisory board members are, in alphabetical order:

Iddrisu Adam, PhD
Associate Professor of Geography/Geology and Associate Dean
University of Wisconsin-Marshfield/Wood County

Richard Bailey, MD
President of Medical Affairs
Riverview Hospital Association

Mike Beck
General Manager/Executive Editor
Gannett - The Wausau Daily Herald

Steven Bell
Chairman and CEO
WoodTrust Bank

Steve Bergin, MD
MCW Alumni Association Representative
Aspirus Stevens Point Clinic

Marita Hattem
Sr. Vice President of Organization & Service Line Development
Aspirus, Inc.

Larry Hegland, MD, MMM
System Medical Director for Recovery Audit and Appeal Services
Chief Medical Officer
Ministry Saint Clare’s Hospital and Good Samaritan Health Center
Ministry Health Care

David Houlihan, MD
Chief of Staff
Tomah VA Medical Center

Matthew Jansen, MD
Director of Medical Education
Marshfield Clinic

Joseph Kilsdonk, AuD, MS
Administrator of Education Division
Marshfield Clinic

Keith Langenhahn
Field Service Representative
Wisconsin Counties Association

Daniel McCarty, PhD
Associate Professor
School of Health Care Professions
University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point

Shelly Mondeik
Vice President for Learning
Northcentral Technical College

Keith Montgomery, PhD
Campus Dean and CEO
University of Wisconsin-Marathon County

Douglas Oba, PhD
Associate Professor of Biology
University of Wisconsin-Marshfield/Wood County

Kevin O’Connell, MD
Program Director
Aspirus Wausau Family Medicine
Aspirus, Inc.

Kevin Root
Vice President and CFO
Church Mutual Insurance Company

Ron Skrenes, JD
Anderson O’Brien

Peter Stamas, Jr., MD
Vice President, Medical Affairs,
Ministry Saint Joseph’s Hospital
Ministry Health Care

Greg Summers, PhD
Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Patti Thwaits
Outreach Coordinator
University of Wisconsin-Marathon County

Lori Weyers, PhD
Northcentral Technical College

Peter Yang
Executive Director
Wausau Area Hmong Mutual Association

Campus Dean,
Medical College of Wisconsin-Central Wisconsin

Alice Archabal
Chief Development Officer/Vice President of Development
Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Hospital Foundation

Kathryn Kuhn
Vice President of Government and Community Relations
Medical College of Wisconsin

Cheryl Maurana, PhD
Vice President for Strategic Outreach
Medical College of Wisconsin

Ken Simons, MD
Faculty Residency Lead
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Accreditation
Medical College of Wisconsin

Paula Termuhlen, MD *
Faculty Leader and Director of Community Medical Education Program
Medical College of Wisconsin


  * Ex Officio (without vote)