Office of Public Affairs

Office of Public Affairs

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  
Share |

MCW’s Family Medicine Interest Group receives 2013 Program of Excellence Award

July 09, 2013 College News - The Medical College’s Family Medicine Student Association (FMSA) was one of 17 programs nationwide to receive the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) 2013 Program of Excellence Award for its efforts to generate interest in family medicine.

Award winners will be honored during an Aug. 1 ceremony at the AAFP National Conference for Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students in Kansas City.

Family Medicine Student Associations, known as Family Medicine Interest Groups (FMIGs) by the AAFP, are medical school-sponsored organizations that give students a chance to learn more about family medicine through regular meetings, workshops, leadership development opportunities, and community and clinical experiences. The Program of Excellence Awards recognizes FMIGs for their outstanding performance in FMIG operation, community service, promoting the value of primary care, exposure to family medicine and family physicians, professional development and measures of success.

MCW’s Family Medicine Student Association was honored for its leadership training, highly regarded community service projects and strong member involvement in a variety of opportunities that demonstrate the rewards of family medicine. Karen Hulbert, MD, Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine, serves as faculty advisor to MCW’s Family Medicine Interest Group.

This is the seventh time MCW’s Family Medicine Student Association has won the award since 2003; they also won in 2005 and 2008-2012. In addition, it won the AAFP Excellence in Infrastructure Award in 2006.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 07/23/2013