Named Chairs at MCW

The following faculty members hold endowed chairs. Their names and titles are listed in a form appropriate for first reference.

Joseph C. Besharse, PhD, Chairman and Marvin Wagner Professor of Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy; Marjorie & Joseph Heil Professor in Ophthalmology

William B. Campbell, PhD, Florence Williams Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Joseph J. Carroll, PhD, Richard O. Schultz, MD Ruth Works Professorship in Ophthalmology

Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD, Chairman and James J. Smith & Catherine Welsch Smith Professor of Physiology, Harry & Gertrude Hack Term Professorship in Physiology

Arthur R. Derse, MD, JD, Julia and David Uihlein Professor of Medical Humanities, and Professor of Bioethics and Emergency Medicine, and Director of the Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities

Douglas B. Evans, MD, Chairman and Donald C. Ausman Family Foundation Professor of Surgery

T. Clark Gamblin, MD, Stuart D. Wilson Professor of Surgery and Chief of Surgical Oncology

John B. Gordon, MD, Kaemmer Professor in Pediatrics: The "Super Kid" Chair in Special Needs

Jon C. Gould, MD, Alonzo P. Walker Professor in General Surgery

Andrew S. Greene, PhD, Dr. Robert D. and Dr. Patricia E. Kern Professor in Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Professor of Physiology, Director of the Biotechnology and Bioengineering Center, and Director of the Kern Innovation Center

David D. Gutterman, MD, Northwestern Mutual Professor of Cardiology

Dennis P. Han, MD, Jack A. & Elaine D. Klieger Professor of Ophthalmology

David R. Harder, PhD, Kohler Co. Professor in Cardiovascular Research and Associate Dean for Research

Parameswaran Hari, MD, MS, Armand J. Quick/William F. Stapp Professor in Hematology

Robert J. Havlik, MD, Chairman and George J. Korkos, MD Professor in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Johnny C. Hong, MD, Mark B. Adams Chair in Surgery

Mary M. Horowitz, MD, MS, Robert A. Uihlein, Jr. Professor of Hematologic Research and Director of the Center for International Blood & Marrow Transplant Research

Sam T. Hwang, MD, PhD, Chairman and Thomas J. Russell Family/Milwaukee Community Dermatologists Chair of Dermatology and Professor of Dermatology

James S. Hyde, PhD, James S. Hyde Professor of Biophysics and Director of the National Biomedical EPR Center

Balaraman Kalyanaraman, PhD, Chairman and Harry R. & Angeline E. Quadracci Professor in Parkinson's Research (Biophysics)

Jon Lehrmann, MD, Charles E. Kubly Chair in Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, Chairman and Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine

Kirk A. Ludwig, MD, FACS, FASCRS, Vernon O. Underwood Professor in Colon Cancer Research and Associate Professor of Surgery

Dennis J. Maiman, MD, PhD, Chairman and Sanford J. Larson Professor of Neurosurgery

Vincent P. Mathews, MD, Chairman and James E. Youker MD, Professor in Radiology

Jeffrey A. Medin, PhD, MACC Fund Professor

Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH, Lady Riders Breast Cancer Research Professor, Professor of Medicine, Chief of General Internal Medicine, and Director of the Center for Patient Care and Outcomes Research

Janet S. Rader, MD, Chairman and Jack A. & Elaine D. Klieger Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Ramani Ramchandran, PhD, Patrick J. & Margaret G. McMahon Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Philip N. Redlich, MD, PhD, Gerald L. Schmitz, MD Professor of Surgery, Associate Dean for Curriculum, and Chief of Surgery Education

John Rhee, MD, MPH, Chairman and John C. Koss Professor in Otolaryngology & Communication Sciences

Ann K. Rosenthal, MD, Will & Cava Ross Professor of Medicine, Chief of Rheumatology, and Director of the Arthritis Institute

Hallgeir Rui, MD, PhD, Wisconsin Breast Cancer Showhouse (WBCS) Endowed Chair in Basic Breast Cancer Research and Professor of Pathology

Jeffrey P. Schwab, MD, Chairman and Paul A. Jacobs, MD Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

William See, MD, Richard Bentley Bourne, MD, Term Professor

Reza Shaker, MD, Chief and Joseph E. Geenen Professor of Gastroenterology, Sr. Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research, and Director of the Digestive Disease Center

Roy L. Silverstein, MD, Chairman and Linda and John Mellowes Professor of Medicine

Ellen Velie, PhD, MPH, Joan K. Van Deuren Professor in Breast Cancer Research, MCW Professor of Medicine and Pathology, and Professor of Epidemiology, UWM Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health

Carole S. Vetter, MD, David S. Haskell, MD Endowed Professor in Orthopaedic Education

Alonzo P. Walker, MD, Ruth Teske Professor of Surgical Oncology and Sr. Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Diversity

David C. Warltier, MD, PhD, Chairman and John P. Kampine Professor of Anesthesiology

John A. Weigelt, MD, DVM, Milton & Lidy Lunda/Charles Aprahamian Professor of Trauma Surgery, Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs, Chief of Trauma and Critical Care Surgery, and Joint Medical Director of Clinical Quality for the Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Hospital

Michael C. Weisgerber, MD, Elsa B. and Roger D. Cohen, MDs, Professor in Medical Education and Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Earnestine Willis, MD, MPH, Kellner Professor of Pediatrics, Director of the Center for the Advancement of Underserved Children, and Director of Health Equity and Urban Clinical Care Partnerships

J. Frank Wilson, MD, FACR, FASTRO, Chairman and Bernard & Miriam Peck Family Professor of Radiation Oncology

Ming You, MD, PhD, Joseph F. Heil, Jr. Professor of Molecular Oncogenesis and Sr. Associate Dean for Cancer Research, Education and Clinical Care

James E. Youker, MD, FACR, Robert C. Olson, MD, Professor in Radiology


  • Marcus Professor of Human and Molecular Genetics
  • Mariette C. & Philip W. Orth/Tom Anderson Professor in Neoplastic Diseases
  • Sharon K. Wadina Professor in Sarcoma Research
  • Thomas Russell Chair
  • Ursula Von der Ruhr Professor of Bioethics
  • Walter Schroeder Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
  • Warren P. Knowles Professor

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2016

Page Updated 02/04/2016