Public Safety

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  


Classifying and Defining Clery Act Crimes

The Clery Act requires institutions to disclose three general categories of crime statistics:

1. Types of Offenses
2. Hate Crimes
3. Arrests and Referrals for Disciplinary Action

                Aggravated Assault



                Drug Law Violations

                Illegal Weapon(s) Possession

                Liquor Law Violations

                Motor Vehicle Theft

                Murder and Non-Negligent Manslaughter

                Negligent Manslaughter


                Sex Offenses- Forcible

                Sex Offenses- Non-Forcible


The definitions of these crimes are taken from the Federal Bureau of Investigation's (FBI's) Uniform Crime Reporting Handbook (UCR) as required by the Clery Act.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 11/20/2013