Radiation Oncology

EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  
J. Frank Wilson, MD, FACR
The Bernard & Miriam Peck Family Chair and Professor of Radiation Oncology


Department of Radiation Oncology
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226







Message from the Chairman:
The missions of the Department of Radiation Oncology are three fold: To provide highest quality care to all patients who seek treatment at any of our clinical sites, to educate future generations of physicians and physicists in the medicine and science of radiation oncology, and to perform cutting-edge clinical, translational, and laboratory research in radiation oncology with the goal of providing improved outcomes for patients.

In the area of education, rotations through the Department of Radiation Oncology provide medical students clinical experience with a vast and complete spectrum of malignant neoplasms and exposure to the entire range of diagnostic and therapeutic modalities related to these malignancies. The Radiation Oncology Department also offers two training programs, the Radiation Oncology Residency Program, and the Physics Residency Program. These programs prepare residents for careers that focus on the care and treatment of cancer patients using state-of-the-art, proven radiation treatment techniques through in-depth clinical and research experiences.

In the area of research, faculty in the Department of Radiation Oncology conduct basic, translational, and clinical research in many areas of radiation oncology including investigator-initiated clinical research and as leading participants in national cooperative group trials. Intramural research efforts are focused on adaptive radiotherapy, imaging guided radiotherapy, intensity modulated radiotherapy, stereotactic radiosurgery, brachytherapy, bone marrow transplantation, and radiation/drug interactions, prevention of treatment-associated tissue injury, and development of techniques for prediction of tumor and normal tissue response.

Through education and research, we provide our patients with the latest technology and advancements in the field of radiation oncology. Clinical services are currently provided at five clinical locations, including Froedtert Hospital and Zablocki VA Medical Center in Milwaukee, St. Joseph’s Hospital in West Bend, Community Memorial Hospital in Menomonee Falls, and St. Catherine’s Hospital in Kenosha.


- J. Frank Wilson, MD, FACR,  the Bernard & Miriam Peck Family Chair and Professor of Radiation Oncology
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 09/09/2014