EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  



Department News

Dr. David Johnstone to Join the Department of Surgery as Director of the Lung Cancer Program, July 2011

 David Johnstone, MD On behalf of the Department of Surgery, the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, and the MCW/Froedtert Cancer Center, we are excited to announce that Dr. David Johnstone will be joining us this coming summer. Dr. Johnstone is currently Director of the Comprehensive Thoracic Oncology Program at Dartmouth Medical School and the Norris Cotton Cancer Center. Since 2007, he has been Chief of the Division of Thoracic Surgery at Dartmouth.

Dr. Johnstone is a graduate of Shorewood High School, Yale University, and Northwestern University Medical School. His General Surgery Residency was completed at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York and his cardiothoracic training was completed at Cornell University Medical Center/New York Hospital and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. He also spent time at Toronto General Hospital during his cardiothoracic residency. Following training, Dr. Johnstone joined the faculty at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and in 2004 was recruited to Dartmouth Medical School. Dr. Johnstone is very active in the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group and the Thoracic Surgery Committee of the American College of Surgeons Oncology Group. He is Principal Investigator of clinical trials sponsored by both cooperative group organizations. Dr. Johnstone brings with him 20 years of experience in thoracic oncology and most notably the multidisciplinary management of lung cancer. He joins the multi-talented senior surgeons who comprise the Medical College of Wisconsin Thoracic Oncology Group (Drs. George Haasler, Mario Gasparri, Bill Tisol, and Daryl Pearlstein). Under the leadership of Dr. Haasler and the successful outreach efforts of Dr. Pearlstein, this program has become a regional success; Dr. Johnstone and the multidisciplinary thoracic oncology program faculty will further advance these efforts.

Douglas B. Evans, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery

James Tweddell, M.D.
Professor and Chief
Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Ming You, M.D., Ph.D.
MCW Cancer Center
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 09/04/2014