EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  



Department News

Dr. Paula Termuhlen to Join the Department of Surgery
June 1, 2011 as Residency Program Director and
Professor of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology 

Paula Termuhlen, MD

On behalf of the Department of Surgery faculty and residents, Dr. Tom Sato, Chair of the Search Committee, and Dr. Clark Gamblin, Division Chief of Surgical Oncology, we are thrilled to announce the successful recruitment of Dr. Paula Termuhlen to the Medical College of Wisconsin faculty effective June 1, 2011. Dr. Termuhlen will assume the position of Residency Program Director and Professor of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology.

Dr. Termuhlen is a graduate of St. Louis University School of Medicine and completed her surgical training at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston. During her training, she completed two years of basic research in the laboratory of Dr. Gary Gallick studying the role of Src family kinases in colon cancer as part of the NIH T32 Fellowship Program. Dr. Termuhlen then completed the Surgical Oncology fellowship at M. D. Anderson Cancer Center. After three years on the faculty at the University of Nebraska, she was recruited to Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio where she has remained. At present she is Vice-Chair of the Department of Surgery, Chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology, and Medical Director of the High-Risk Breast Center. Since 2002 she has been Program Director of the General Surgery Residency Program at Wright State University and Boonshoft School of Medicine. Dr. Termuhlen is currently treasurer of the Association of Program Directors in Surgery and a member of the Executive Committee. She is also a member of the Society of University Surgeons, Central Surgical, American Society of Breast Surgeons, and the Society of Surgical Oncology. She is currently the liaison to the MS4 Curriculum Committee for the Association of Surgical Education. Dr. Termuhlen is currently on the USMLE Step 2 Committee of the National Board of Medical Examiners and also a member of the SCORE Systems Based Practice Content Review Committee of the American Board of Surgery. She received the Outstanding Faculty Teacher Award from the University of Nebraska in 2000 and the Teacher of the Year Award at Wright State University in 2004. She is widely published in both surgical oncology and most recently in surgical education which has become her true passion.

On June 1st of this year, Dr. Termuhlen will assume leadership of the Surgery Residency Program from Dr. Alonzo Walker, who as you know, was recently appointed Interim Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Diversity. To have senior experienced Program Directors such as Drs. Walker and Termuhlen lead the Residency Program is a true privilege for the Department of Surgery and the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Please join me in welcoming Paula, her husband Dave, and their children Christopher, Anka, and Siddharth to the Medical College of Wisconsin and Milwaukee. I would like to especially thank Dr. Clark Gamblin, Chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology and Dr. Tom Sato, Chair of the Search Committee for their extra efforts in Dr. Termuhlen’s recruitment. I would also like to acknowledge the hard work of the search committee (Rebecca Anderson, Ph.D., Joseph Battista, M.D., Christopher Fox, M.D., Mario Gasparri, M.D., Matthew Goldblatt, M.D., Rachel Greenup, M.D., Steven Kappes, M.D., Brian Lewis, M.D., John LoGiudice, M.D., Kirk Ludwig, M.D., Keith Oldham, M.D., Mary Otterson, M.D., M.S., Philip Redlich, M.D., Ph.D., Rebecca Rentea, M.D., Tim Ridolfi, M.D., Allan Roza, M.D., Ken Simons, M.D., Alonzo Walker, M.D., Tracy Wang, M.D., M.P.H., and Travis Webb, M.D. ) which led to the successful recruitment of Dr. Termuhlen. Finally, we greatly appreciate the support of Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin in the support of Dr. Termuhlen and her exciting plans for the Surgical Residency Program and the continued expansion of our Breast Cancer Program.

Dr. Termuhlen can be reached at

Douglas B. Evans, M.D.
Department of Surgery
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 09/04/2014