EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  



News, Special Recognition, and Awards

Irena Gribovskaja-Rupp, MDDr. Irena Gribovskaja-Rupp receives 1st place and Starr Award from Assn of Women Surgeons - 2011

Dr. Irena Gribovskaja-Rupp, a PGY-4 resident in the Department of Surgery resident training program has received 1st place for her research and was awarded the Starr Award from the Association of Women Surgeons at their annual meeting in San Francisco, October 2011. Dr. Rupp participated in their annual poster competition dedicated to the memory of Nina Starr Braunwald, the first female cardiothoracic surgeon. She was selected from a national pool of candidates including 9 other residents and 10 medical students to present her research at the AWS fall meeting. Her project was titled “Upregulation of mucosal 5-HT3 receptors partially restores colonic transit after pelvic nerve transection in rats,” and focused on understanding in vivo and in vitro responses of the distal colon to autonomic parasympathetic nerve damage in a rat model.

Dr. Rupp, currently under the mentorship of colorectal surgeon Dr. Kirk Ludwig, is performing research at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center in the lab of Dr. Toku Takahashi. Their work centers on addressing issues of constipation and slowed colonic transit after pelvic parasympathetic nerve damage. Her project focuses on the compensatory mechanisms of the distal colon to restore motility. Dr. Rupp is currently in her second year in Dr. Takahashi's lab.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 09/04/2014