#### PRESIDENT'S COMMUNITY ENAGEMENT AWARDS CEREMONY

PRESENTED BY: JOHN R. RAYMOND, SR., MD PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN

April 22, 2016





#### **Community Partner Award: Paula Lucey, RN, MSN**

- PhD candidate in Leadership
- Clinical Instructor at the College of Nursing at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
- Owner of Lamplighter Consulting
- Founding Member & Chair of the MCW Consortium on Public and Community Health





- Served as board member of Milwaukee Health Services for more than 10 years
- Helped design the Healthier Wisconsin Partnership Program of the Advancing a Healthier Wisconsin Endowment
- Advocate for nursing leadership and education in communitybased approaches to health improvement



### Faculty Award: Earnestine Willis, MD, MPH

- Professor, Department of Pediatrics
  - Kellner Professor in Pediatrics
- Director of the Center for the Advancement of Underserved Children in the Department of Pediatrics
  - secondary appointment in the Institute of Health & Society at the Medical College of Wisconsin





- Received the Community Impact Award from the Medical society of Milwaukee County
- Helped with numerous Initiatives with a statewide and local focus, including:
  - School Health Care
  - Community Pediatric Training
    Initiative
  - Tobacco Control and Prevention
  - Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare
  - Making Milwaukee Smile

- Earlier is Better
- Community Health Improvement for Milwaukee's Children
- Reach and Read Milwaukee
- Legal and Medical Partnership
- Milwaukee's Life Course Initiative for Healthy Families
- Breastfeeding Employers Support Time



### Staff Award: Hilary Chavez, MS

• Coordinator for the Urban & Community Health, Global Health, and Health Systems Management & Policy Pathway programs





- No other staff member at MCW is involved directly with as many community partners to engage medical students with Milwaukee communities
- Helped to build sustained affiliations with new partners, including: Sebastian Family Psychology Clinic, M&S Services, La Causa Charter School and the International Institute
- Facilitates UCHP and GH, which provides service learning opportunities to over 100 medical students per year, with > 20 community partner organizations



### Staff Award: Melissa DeNomie, MS

- Research Coordinator, Department of Family & Community Medicine's Center for Healthy Communities & Research
  - specializes in community engaged research
  - supports numerous MCW faculty in community engaged research projects that address a wide range of health-related topics





### **Notable Accomplishments**

- Lead coordinator on three funded projects:
  - Reducing Breast Cancer Mortality by Screening Mammography in Women with Cultural Barriers
  - –Biking for Health
  - Increasing Low-SES Consumers Access and Use of Milwaukee Farmers
    Markets to Improve Product Intake
- Coordinated 19 partnership initiatives
- Remarkable work and dedication with "One Hundred Healthy, At-risk Families" project funded by the Healthier Wisconsin Partnership Program



### Student Award: Jack M. Keegan

- Third-year medical student at the Medical College of Wisconsin
  - pursuing a career in General Internal Medicine
  - prior to enrolling at MCW:
    - President of the Physicians for Social Responsibility
    - Education Coordinator for the Homelessness Outreach in Medical Education Project





- Planned and implemented overhaul of Guest House Counseling Clinic's data management system
- Leader with Physicians for Social Responsibility and the HOME Project
- Education with Project Homeless Connect to provide frostbite prevention education



#### **Student Award: Daniel Payton Sterba**

- Third-year medical student at the Medical College of Wisconsin
  - pursuing a career in psychiatry





- Studying the transportation needs of Despensa de la Paz to help those in need access the food pantry
- Served as board member of the AIDS Resource Center for Wisconsin
- Trained and taught asthma self-management to 3<sup>rd</sup>-5<sup>th</sup> graders within Milwaukee Public Schools



# CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OF OUR AWARDEES!



### THANK YOU TO THE PRESIDENT'S COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Syed Ahmed
- Tom Brophy
- Kerry Freiberg
- Brenda Gray
- Kathryn Kuhn

- John Meurer
- Monique Graham
- Jeffrey Morzinski
- Veronica Gunn



### THANK YOU TO THE OFFICE OF THE SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN FOR COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AND OTHERS

- Syed M. Ahmed
- Sharon Neu Young
- Micala Queary
- Lauren O'Brien

- Kelsey Heindel
- Jessica De Santis
- Sarah O'Connor
- Sara Wilkins

