#### PRESIDENT'S COMMUNITY ENAGEMENT AWARDS CEREMONY

PRESENTED BY: JOHN R. RAYMOND, SR., MD PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN

April 21, 2017





#### **Community Partner Award: Milwaukee Heath Department Laboratory**

- Awarded for the Milwaukee Health Department Laboratory's work with the Healthier Wisconsin Partnership Project, "Growing Healthy Soil for Healthy Communities" (GHSHC)
- Started in 2014 (HWPP Grant Award 2015-2018)
- Goal: to build community and public health capacity in two Milwaukee neighborhoods, using urban agriculture programming as a transformational and empowerment tool, to mitigate exposure to lead through primary intervention
  - » Award being accepted by
     Dr. Sanjib Bhattacharyya,
     Laboratory Director





- Developed & are now implementing a new soil testing capacity
- Developed an internal administrative procedure to allow Milwaukee residents to submit soil directly to the Health Department for analysis
  - service will launch shortly.
  - Instrumental in public health laboratory capacity building to screen garden soil for nutrients and lead (Pb) to mitigate exposure to lead (Pb) through primary prevention
- Provided >2,000 hours of in-kind expert staff time to achieve project goals



"Extensive efforts to develop soil sampling and testing procedures, quality controls and seamless feedback loops between the department, neighborhood residents and academic partners has been invaluable"

– Ben Gramling, Sixteenth Street Community Health Centers

#### **Community Partner Award: Project ADAM**

- Started in 1999 after the death of Adam Lemel, a 17-year-old student who collapsed and died during a high school basketball game
- Project ADAM stands for "Automated Defibrillators in Adam's Memory"
- Founded by Adam's Parents, Patty Lemel-Clanton and Joe Lemel, in collaboration with Children's Hospital of Wisconsin's Herma Heart Center
- In 2014 Dr. Anoop K. Singh and Allison Thompson became the Medical Director and Program Administrator, respectively, for Project ADAM



» Dr. Singh, Medical Director, and Allison Thompson, Program Administrator, are accepting the award



- Project ADAM has provided comprehensive cardiac emergency response systems in 150+ schools
- Resulted in 13 Project ADAM affiliates in 11 states
- Critical testimony from Dr. Singh and Adam's father, Joe Lemel, was critical in passing a bill mandate CPR-Automated External Defibrillator (AED) education as a high school requirement



"What began as one family's response to the tragic death of a child has grown into a community-based program benefiting not only our local Milwaukee community but also engaging communities across the United States." – Jeanne M. James, MD, MCW Division Chief of Pediatric Cardiology

#### Faculty Award: Lisa Dodson, MD

- Founding Dean of MCW–Central Wisconsin
- Joined MCW in 2014
- Inaugural class of students at MCW-Central Wisconsin matriculated in July 2016



"Lisa's ability to convey the benefits of a three-year, top-shelf program inspired confidence and still does.
She expressed her desire to integrate the campus with the community, and has made good on that promise."
Jean C. Tehan, Executive Director of Community Foundation for North Central Wisconsin



- Recruited >70 adjunct and part-time faculty
- Identified >75 community partner organizations to work with students on projects
- Created innovative Faculty Navigator model for community and healthcare system engagement



#### Faculty Award: John Meurer, MD, MBA

- Joined MCW in 1994
- Director, Institute for Health & Equity
- Led >\$23 million in grant-funded projects and published >50 articles



"Dr. Meurer is a great champion for children in our community and across our state, dedicated to working with and on behalf of young children to make sure they have the opportunity to grow into their fullest potential. 'Kids First' – a phrase he has repeated on multiple occasions throughout our work together – exemplifies his world view. I can't think of a better nominee." – Tim Coughlin, Kindergarten Readiness Partnership of Milwaukee Succeeds



- Established multi-disciplinary, city-wide coalitions and partnerships that have led to sustainable changes in service systems, funding and policies
- Innovative educator, developing interdisciplinary training, culturally-relevant pediatric care, patient-physician relationship building and health programs



# Staff Award: Tim Sobotka & Jessica Olson, PhD

- Started the DRIVE Program in 2016 (Delivering Research Innovations Via Educational Experiences)
- Partnership Project with Milwaukee Academy of Sciences, Kettle Moraine High School of Health Sciences and MCW.





" Jess and Tim have embraced the concept of community engagement through educational outreach programs for children, teens and adults, and have served as exemplary ambassadors of MCW and its missions in the community."
Andrew S. Green, PhD, MCW Biotechnology and Engineering



- Students submitted abstracts and presented at MCW CE Week poster session in 2016 & 2017
- Work recognized by Fox 6 Now, Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service, North Shore Now, newsletters for Milwaukee Academy of Science, and High School of Health Sciences and MCW Magazine
- High school students from two schools partner with MCW scientists and others in the community to tackle realworld problems



# Student Award: Christine Brichta & Caitlin Quinn

- M3 students in the Urban and Community Health Pathway
- Awarded for their contributions to "The Food Doctors: A MyPlate-focused Hands-On, Interactive Nutrition Education Program for Underserved Elementary School Students"





"Christine and Caitlin have embraced a community engagement approach, and contributed to a highly impactful, sustainable program that will provide community-engaged service learning opportunities for future students." – Linda Meurer, MD, MPH, MCW Urban and Community Health Pathway Director



- Modified the program in collaboration with partners to meet education standards
- Contributed to program sustainability, recruiting and training new M1 students to lead the program and expand to other schools
- Developed structured lesson plans for future student cohorts



## CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OF OUR AWARDEES!



#### THANK-YOU TO THE PRESIDENT'S COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Dr. Syed Ahmed
- Tom Brophy
- Melissa DeNomie
- Kerry Frieberg
- Monique Graham

- Dr. Brenda Gray
- Kathryn Kuhn
- Dr. John Meurer
- Dr. Jeffrey Morzinski
- Dr. Earnestine Willis



#### THANK YOU TO THE OFFICE OF THE SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN FOR COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AND OTHERS

- Syed M. Ahmed
- Sharon Neu Young
- Micala Queary
- Lauren O'Brien

- Kelsey Heindel
- Jessica De Santis
- Sarah O'Connor
- Sara Wilkins

