

# PRESIDENT'S COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARDS CEREMONY

PRESENTED BY:

JOHN R. RAYMOND, SR., MD

PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN

April 17, 2015



#### FACULTY AWARD: MARLENE MELZER-LANGE, MD

MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN

- Professor, Department of Pediatrics
- Board-certified in Emergency Medicine
- Serves as Medical Director of Emergency Services at Children's Hospital of Wisconsin and Program Director of Project Ujima



- care of adolescents
- injury prevention
- care of violently-injured youth



#### FACULTY AWARD: MARLENE MELZER-LANGE, MD



Dr. Melzer-Lange's award is based on achievements in the following categories:

- institutional and community impact
- strength of community partnership
- efforts given towards partnership/project
- evidence of exceptionalism in partnership/projects

#### FACULTY AWARD: MARLENE MELZER-LANGE, MD



#### Highlights of Dr. Melzer-Lange's achievements:

- Her community engagement touches hundreds of individuals touched by violence each year
- She brings together a multitude of community partners to collaborate toward a common goal
- She helps to ensure positive outcomes at the individual, community and institutional level
- She has demonstrated many years of community programming success
- She has touched other communities across the country
- She has educated and inspired others on the topic of interpersonal violence

#### **STAFF AWARD: VICKI CONTE**



- Program Manager, Department of Neurology
- Has spent significant amount of time in the Parkinson's and Movement Disorder Program
- Leads support groups and undertakes patient and family education and support
- 25 years of experience in the older adult network in the Greater Milwaukee Area



#### **STAFF AWARD: VICKI CONTE**



Ms. Conte's award is based on achievements in the following categories:

- institutional and community impact
- strength of community partnership
- efforts given towards partnership/project
- evidence of exceptionalism in partnership/projects

#### **STAFF AWARD: VICKI CONTE**



#### Highlights of Ms. Conte's achievements:

- Her passion, perseverance, and dedication to the communities, patients and families she serves
- Her commitment to stay at the forefront of care models, to embrace best practices around the country, and to implement them here at MCW and around southeastern Wisconsin
- Her understanding that maintaining dignity in the face of life-altering conditions is of the utmost importance

## STUDENT AWARD: SATURDAY CLINIC FOR THE UNINSURED, 2014-2015 BOARD



- 12 Board Members
- SCU is a primary care clinic entirely run by medical students
- Its mission is twofold:
  - to provide comprehensive,
     patient-centered and equitable
     healthcare for uninsured patients
  - to provide an educational platform for MCW students to learn cultural sensitivity, professionalism and excellent care competencies by working with fellow medical students, residents and physicians
- SCU was founded in 1991 to meet Milwaukee's primary healthcare needs for the lower socioeconomic demographics

## STUDENT AWARD: SATURDAY CLINIC FOR THE UNINSURED, 2014-2015 BOARD



The SCU Board's award is based on achievements in the following categories:

- institutional and community impact
- strength of community partnership
- efforts given towards partnership/project
- evidence of exceptionalism in partnership/projects

## STUDENT AWARD: SATURDAY CLINIC FOR THE UNINSURED, 2014-2015 BOARD



#### **Highlights of the Board's achievements:**

- Board members are responsible for all aspects of running the clinic, including:
  - supervising operations during business hours, coordinating clinic functions with Columbia St. Mary's rules and regulations
  - facilitating outside and in-house referrals
  - ordering medications and laboratory supplies
  - organizing volunteer medical students, residents, physicians and undergraduates
  - Board members reached out to other community members at county, state, and national levels to gather professional input on clinic flow, patient education and allocation of resources



- Ahmad El-Arabi and Bryan Johnston are third-year medical students
- Krista Tuomela is a second-year medical student



- "The Food Doctors: A MyPlate-focused Hands-On, Interactive Nutrition Education Project for Underserved Elementary School Students" started in 2012
- The program helps to meet the need for nutrition education in inner-city Milwaukee



The medical students' award is based on achievements in the following categories:

- institutional and community impact
- strength of community partnership
- efforts given towards partnership/project
- evidence of exceptionalism in partnership/projects



#### Highlight of medical students' accomplishments:

- Since its founding, more than 500 elementary school students have completed the Food Doctors program
- The medical students have not looked to mentors for answers, but rather for acknowledgement that they were going in the right direction
- The medical students participating in The Food Doctors program will be able to incorporate lessons learned into the practice of medicine

#### **COMMUNITY PARTNER AWARD: BRENDA GRAY, PHD, MPH**



- Executive Director, Milwaukee Area Health Education Center
- Educator, Researcher and Advocate



#### **COMMUNITY PARTNER AWARD: BRENDA GRAY, PHD, MPH**



Dr. Gray's award is based on achievements in the following categories:

- institutional and community impact
- strength of community partnership
- efforts given towards partnership/project
- evidence of exceptionalism in partnership/projects

#### **COMMUNITY PARTNER AWARD: BRENDA GRAY, PHD, MPH**



#### Highlights of Dr. Gray's accomplishments:

- The Milwaukee AHEC is responsive to local health needs and serves as an important link between academic training programs and community-based outreach programs
- The AHEC supports innovative, collaborative, multidisciplinary evidenced-based responses to community health issues
- The AHEC develops community health education and health provider training programs to meet the needs of diverse underserved populations



# CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OF OUR AWARDEES!

#### **THANK YOU COMMITTEE MEMBERS**



### President's Community Engagement Award

Syed Ahmed

Mara Lord

Tom Brophy

Cheryl Maurana

Robert Duncan

John Meurer

Kerry Frieberg

Jeff Morzinski

Kathryn Kuhn

Sharon Neu Young

#### THANK YOU PLANNING COMMITTEE



### Community Engagement Week

- Syed Ahmed
- Al Castro
- Mia DeFino
- Christina Eldredge
- Zeno Franco
- Shari Hagedorn

- Anne Kissack
- Jeff Morzinski
- David Nelson
- Sharon Neu Young
- Katie Pritchard
- Sara Wilkins