The Edwin H. Ellison Memorial Lectureship



From 1958 to 1969 Edwin H. Ellison, MD, was a Professor and Chairman of the Division of Surgery of the Medical College of Wisconsin, then Marquette School of Medicine. He was an excellent teacher and surgical scientist. His untimely death in 1970 prompted his friends and colleagues to seek a means of perpetuating the Ellison legacy. The Edwin H. Ellison Memorial Lectureship has been established to bring leading educators in general surgery to the Medical College on a regular basis.

Dr. Ellison received his surgical training at Ohio State University College of Medicine under the tutelage of Robert M. Zollinger, MD. Dr. Ellison served on the Ohio State University faculty from 1944 to 1957. He moved to Milwaukee in 1958. During the next eleven years, his major effort was the development of a full

time department of surgery for the Medical College of Wisconsin. He was immensely successful and the department's academic reputation soared.

Under his leadership, the faculty made significant contributions to the field of gastrointestinal surgery. These efforts stemmed from Dr. Ellison's earlier work at Ohio State and the discovery with Dr. Zollinger of a disease entity with a pathophysiological interaction between islet cell tumors of the pancreas and the stomach, now widely known as the Zollinger-Ellison syndrome.

Dr. Ellison saw the need for an interdisciplinary research facility and in 1961 the Allen-Bradley Medical Science Laboratory was established for the faculty on the grounds of the Milwaukee County Medical Complex. The Allen-Bradley facility is in keeping with the concept of the Medical Center of Southeastern Wisconsin for comprehensive programs of teaching, research, and patient care.

Dr. Ellison was a well-known leader in organized medicine, and served on the editorial boards of prestigious journals. He contributed 161 papers to scientific literature, and shortly before he died had compiled illustrative material for "Ellison's Atlas of Surgery of the Stomach and Duodenum".

His contributions take on more honors with time; his inspiration is hopefully embodied in the Edwin H. Ellison Memorial Lectureship.

Past Speakers

2020

Aurora Pryor, MD
Professor and Chief of Bariatric, Foregut, &
Advanced Gastrointestinal Surgery
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs
Department of Surgery
Stony Brook University

2019

Peter J. Allen, MD (PDF), 3/13/2019 Grand Rounds (video) Chief, Division of Surgical Oncology Department of Surgery Duke University School of Medicine Duke University Medical Center

2018

Douglas S. Tyler, MD University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) John Woods Harris Distinguished Chair in Surgery Professor and Chairman Department of Surgery

2017

Justin Dimick, MD
University of Michigan Health System
George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery
Chair of the Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery
Director, Center for Healthcare Outcomes and
Policy
Associate Chair for Strategy and Finance

2016

Robert S. D. Higgins, MD, MSHA Director, Department of Surgery William Stewart Halsted Professor of Surgery and Surgeon-in-Chief Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

2015

James Conway, MS, FACHE Harvard School of Public Health Institute for Healthcare Improvement

2014

Robin S. McLeod, MD University of Toronto Institute of Health Policy Management and Evaluation Professor, Department of Surgery

2013

Yuman Fong, MD Memorial Sloan-Kettering Murray F. Brennan Chair in Surgery Vice Chair of Technology Development Department of Surgery Director, Center for Image-Guided Interventions

2012

John D. Birkmeyer, MD

2011

Douglas L. Fraker, MD

2009

Peter J. Deckers, MD

2008

Nicole S. Gibran, MD

2007

Jay L. Grosfeld, MD

2006

Gregorio A Sicard, MD

2005

Larry H. Hollier, MD

2004

Bruce E. Jarrell, MD

2003

Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD

2002

Michael G. Sarr, MD

2001

Hugo Obertop

2000

R. C. G. Russell, MB

1990

James Toouli, MBBS, PhD

1998

Murray F. Brennan, MD

1997

Richard A. Prinz, MD

1996

Andrew Warshaw, MD

1995

James Becker, MD

1994

Keith Kelly, MD

1993

Chris Ellison, MD

1992

Edward Passaro, MD

1991

James Cameron, MD

1990

Wallace Ritchie, MD

1989

Robert Hermann, MD

1988

Courtney Townsend, MD

1987

Hallie Debas, MD

1986

David Nahrwold, MD

1985

Ronald Tompkins, MD

1984

William Silen, MD

1983

Paul Jordan, MD

1982

Carter Nance, MD

1981

Robert Zeppa, MD

1980

Mort Grossman, MD

1979

Ward Griffen, MD

1978

Jim Thompson, MD