

Medical Scientist Training Program Annual Retreat

October 13 & 14, 2023 The Abbey Resort Fontana, WI

Itinerary

Friday - October 13, 2023

4:00 - 6:00 PM Hotel Check In

6:15 PM Gathering - Lobby

6:30 - 8:00 PM Dinner

8:00 - 8:30 PM Speed Meeting

8:30 PM Trivia

Sandbar Room

Sandbar Room

Sandbar Room

Saturday - October 14, 2023

8:00 - 9:00 AM Breakfast Buffet

Shore Room

9:00- 10:30 AM Small Group









Jose Franco, MD

Professor, Medicine; Associate Dean, Educational Improvement

"Curriculum and How it Affects Phase 2 and Phase 3 Students Returning Back to Medical School"

Roy Silverstein, MD

Associate Director, MSTP; Linda T. and John A.
Mellowes Professor and Chair, Medicine; Associate
Director, Clinomics, Linda T. and John A. Mellowes
Center for Genomic Sciences and Precision Medicine,
MCW; Senior Investigator, Versiti Blood Research
Institute

"MSTP Residency Selection"

Christopher Roberts, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology; MSTP MAPS Advisor; MCW MSTP Alumni

"Mentoring and Advocating for Physician-Scientists"

Kerri Corcoran, MS, LPC, CSAC

Student Behavioral Health & Resource Navigator "Wellness Resources at MCW"

10:30 - 10:45 AM Check out, put luggage in your vehicles

10:45 - 11:00 AM Group Photo

Lobby

11:00 - 11:20 AM "Persistence in Grant Funding" Shore Room

Nita Salzman, MD, PhD

MSTP Director; Professor, Pediatrics and Microbiology and Immunology; Founding Director, Center for Microbiome Research

11:20 - 12:20 PM "Student Experiences While Seeking Fellowship Support"

Wasif Osmani (M3), Hayley Powers (M3), Chris Monti (G4), Karina Bursch (G3), Sam Zorn (G3)

12:20 - 1:20 PM Lunch

1:20 - 2:20 PM "Non-traditional Funding and Careers"







Aoy Tomita Mitchell, PhD

Professor, Surgery & Biomedical Engineering

Matthew Anderson, MD, PhD

VP and Medical Director, Diagnostic Laboratories; Associate Investigator, Versiti; Assistant Professor, Pathology; MSTP Alumni

Bonnie Dittel, PhD

Professor, Microbiology & Immunology; Senior Investigator, Versiti

2:30 PM Departure

MSTP Leadership

MSTP Students

Director:

Nita Salzman, MD, PhD

Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; Professor, Pediatrics and Microbiology and Immunology; Founding Director, Center for Microbiome Research, Medical College of Wisconsin

Associate Directors:

Joseph Barbieri, PhD

Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Medical College of Wisconsin; Chair of the Communications Committee for MD-PhD Program at the AAMC

Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD

Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Hematology/Oncology/ Transplantation; Associate Professor, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy, Medical College of Wisconsin; Associate Investigator, Versiti Blood Research Institute

Roy Silverstein, MD

Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; Linda T. and John A. Mellowes Professor and Chair, Medicine; Associate Director, Clinomics, Linda T. and John A. Mellowes Center for Genomic Sciences and Precision Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin;

Senior Investigator, Versiti Blood Research Institute

Calvin Williams, MD, PhD

Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; Professor, Pediatrics and Microbiology and Immunology; Associate Dean of Research; Chief Scientific Officer, Children's Wisconsin Research Institute; Chief, Pediatric Rheumatology; Vice Chair, Research, Pediatrics, Medical College of Wisconsin

Program Coordinators:

Kim Peplinski Ann Moll

Phase 1

Anooj Arkatkar Xander Bradeen Jasson Crentsil Cora Helton Joe Hennessey Chris Jin Payton Klosa Michael Lam Dara Okeremi Rashi Purohit

M2

Brandon Adkins Elizabeth Alessio Muskan Bansal Matt Brown Andrew Cao Ben Chao

Malone Friedman Sam Hernandez Rana Mansour Tom Mier Bradey Stuart Marissa Stutzman

<u>G1</u>

Maya Blau Ryan Bonate Megan Fischer Mina Ghobrial Mindy Kim Guadalupe Valdivia Esparza Luke Zangl

G2

Jacob Bartosiak Ryan Brown Donovan Drouillard Cristhian Gutierrez Huerta Josiah Murray David Nowak
Damon Schmalzriedt
Katie Taquet
Emma Tillison
Casey Zoss

G3

Karina Bursch Kelli Cole Julian Grosskopf Teja Karimikonda Tommy Kelly Wendy Lin Gopika SenthilKumar Sam Zorn

G4

Ashley Brown Moe Khalil Nick Malcolm Chris Monti Shana Lara Peter Zhang

<u>G5</u>

Matt Hadiono

Stephen Mazurchuk

M3

Kyler Crawford Ayana Jamal Emily Kolyvas Kelsey Nolden Wasif Osmani Hayley Powers Melissa Quintanilla Anfinson

Suma Thareja Tyler Waltz

M4

Samantha Chou Linda Berg Luecke Moujtaba Kasmani Todd Stollenwerk Paytsar Topchyan

Thank you for joining us today