MCW Cardiovascular Center Scientific Advisory Boards

Internal Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB) and External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB)

The CVC continues to move forward and serve as a campus incubator to stimulate, exchange and nurture new ideas and develop novel research programs in basic, translational, and clinical research. The CVC has seen the development of an expanded long-range strategic plan for programmatic expansion with appropriate input from internal and external experts, key faculty leaders, community leaders and MCW leadership. Importantly, this includes the recruitment of distinguished, extramurally funded faculty to lead CV research programs in key areas – such as stem cells and heart failure. Both the ISAB and ESAB will help the CVC achieve its mission to improve cardiovascular health in Southeast Wisconsin and beyond.

Open AllClose All
  Internal Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB) Members

Ivor J. Benjamin, MD, FAHA, FACC | Director, Cardiovascular Center; Professor of Medicine, Physiology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Cell Biology, and Surgery

Tom P. Aufderheide, MD, MS, FACEP, FACC, FAHAMD | Professor of Emergency Medicine

Zeljko J. Bosnjak, PhD | Professor of Anesthesiology; Vice Chair for Research, Anesthesiology

William B. Campbell, PhD | Chair and Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Michael P. Cinquegrani, MD, FACC, FSCAI | Professor, Medicine; Director, Heart and Vascular Service Line; Vice Chief for Clinical Services

John A. Corbett, PhD | Chair and Professor of Biochemistry

Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD | Chair and James J. Smith & Catherine Welsch Smith Professor of Physiology; Harry & Gertrude Hack Term Professorship in Physiology

Andrew Greene, PhD | Dr. Robert D. and Dr. Patricia E. Kern Professor in Biotechnology and Bioengineering; Professor of Physiology; Director of the Biotechnology and Bioengineering Center, and Director of the Kern Innovation Center

David Gutterman, MD | Northwest Mutual Professor in Cardiology; Senior Associate Director, Cardiovascular Center

David Harder, PhD | Kohler Co. Professor in Cardiovascular Research and Associate Dean for Research Mentoring; Professor, Physiology, Medicine, and Pediatrics

Elizabeth R. Jacobs, MD, MBA | Associate Dean of Research; Professor, Medicine; Associate Chief of Staff for Research, Milwaukee VAMC

Jeanne M. James, MD | Section Chief, Pediatric Cardiology; Medical Director, Pediatric Cardiology, Children's Hospital; The Leigh Gabrielle Herma Endowed Chair for Cardiology, Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Foundation

Cheong Jun Lee, MD | Assistant Professor of Surgery/Vascular Surgery

John Meurer, MD, MBA | Professor and Director, Institute for Health and Society; Coalition Director, Fight Asthma Milwaukee Allies

Peter Newman, PhD | Vice President for Research, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Associate Director, Blood Research Institute; Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy

Reza Shaker, MD | Chief and Joseph E. Geenen Professor of Gastroenterology, Sr. Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research, and Director of the Digestive Disease Center

Roy Silverstein, MD | Chair and Linda and John Mellowes Professor of Medicine

Reza Shaker, MD | Chief and Joseph E. Geenen Professor of Gastroenterology; Sr. Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research; Director of the Digestive Disease Center

Gilbert C. White II, MD | Executive Vice President for Research; Director, Blood Research Institute; Professor, Medicine, Biochemistry, and Pharmacology and Toxicology

Ming You, MD, PhD | Joseph F. Heil, Jr. Professor of Molecular Oncogenesis and Sr. Associate Dean for Cancer Research, Education and Clinical Care

  External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB) Members

Donna K. Arnett, PhD, MSPH | UAB School of Public Health
Professor and Chair Department of Epidemiology; Co-Director of the Program in Analytic and Epidemiologic Genomics for the UAB Heflin Center for Human Genetics; President of the American Heart Association (AHA)

David G. Harrison, MD | Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Betty and Jack Bailey Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology; Director, Division of Clinical Pharmacology; Director of the Center for Vascular Biology

David A. Kass, MD | Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Abraham and Virginia Weiss Professor of Cardiology; Professor of Medicine

Elizabeth M. McNally, MD, PhD | Northwestern University
Director of the Center for Genetic Medicine; Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine; Professor of Medicine in Cardiology, Biochemistry, and Molecular Genetics

Elizabeth Murphy, PhD | National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Senior Investigator, Laboratory of Cardiac Physiology

David J. Pinsky, MD | University of Michigan Medical School
Director and Science Lead, Frankel Cardiovascular Center; Professor of Internal Medicine in Cardiology

Daniel J. Rader, MD | University of Pennsylvania
Director, Preventive Cardiovascular Medicine and Lipid Clinic; Associate Director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics; Director, Cardiovascular Metabolism Unit, Institute for Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism; Program Director, General Clinical Research Center; Scientific Director, Clinical and Translational Research, Cardiovascular Institute; Chief, Division of Translational Medicine and Human Genetics, Department of Medicine; Director, PennMedicine BioBank, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics; Chair, Department of Genetics

Curt D. Sigmund, PhD | University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Chair and Department Executive Officer, Roy J Carver Chair in Hypertension Research, Professor of Pharmacology, Professor of Internal Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

Contact Us

MCW Cardiovascular Center
Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Rd.
Milwaukee, WI 53226

(414) 955-5611 | Fax (414) 456-6515