About the Medical College of Wisconsin


The Medical College of Wisconsin is a private, national, freestanding institution governed by a Board of Trustees. The College was founded in 1893 as the Wisconsin College of Physicians and Surgeons. In 1913 the Wisconsin College of Physicians and Surgeons and the Milwaukee Medical College merged to become the Marquette University School of Medicine. In 1967 Marquette University, due to financial constraints, terminated its sponsorship of the medical school. The school then continued as a private, freestanding institution. Its name was changed in 1970 to The Medical College of Wisconsin. The College has approximately 13,500 alumni.

The Medical College of Wisconsin, located in west suburban Milwaukee, is a private, independent graduate-level school for health sciences. It is the academic heart of the Milwaukee Regional Medical Center campus. The College and its affiliates form the only academic medical center campus in eastern Wisconsin. The campus serves as a regional resource for biomedical education, patient care, discovery and public and community health.


The Medical College of Wisconsin is a major national research center, in fact, the largest research institution in the Milwaukee metro area and second largest in Wisconsin. Medical College faculty received approximately $154 million in external support for research, teaching, training, and related purposes, of which approximately $138 million was for research, in fiscal year 2013–2014. This total includes highly competitive research and training awards from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). In the federal government’s FY 2014, the College received $79.5 million in NIH funding and ranked 46th among the nation’s 137 medical schools for NIH research funding.

The Medical College of Wisconsin’s research enterprise is focused on interdisciplinary collaboration among scientists and physicians with the goal of rapidly translating discoveries into advances for patient care.

The Medical College of Wisconsin continues to expand its strong interdisciplinary research centers, joining faculty from many areas of specialized expertise to focus on cancer, cardiovascular diseases, neurosciences, infectious diseases and immunology, and community and population health research. Enabling technological platforms comprising genetics, imaging, stem cell biology and regenerative medicine, proteomics and structural biology, the Clinical and Translational Science Institute, and community and population health advance research in numerous biomedical areas at the Medical College.

Through the Clinical and Translational Science Institute, the Medical College and seven other academic and health care institutions in southeastern Wisconsin are joining together to create a critical mass of expertise and resources for transforming laboratory research to patient care. Clinical and Translational Science Institute members include: The Medical College of Wisconsin, Marquette University, Milwaukee School of Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, BloodCenter of Wisconsin, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Froedtert Hospital, and the Zablocki VA Medical Center.

Research by MCW faculty generates discoveries with the potential to be translated into cures and treatments. College faculty, postdoctoral fellows and students reported 50 new discoveries and inventions to the College’s Office of Technology Development in fiscal year 2014–2015. The College has a portfolio of 218 technologies from 334 faculty, fellows, staff and students, and 257 pending or issued U.S. and international patents. To bring these new technologies and related products to market, the College has research and development affiliations with campus institutions, other major universities and research institutions, health care organizations, as well as government and venture capital groups in Wisconsin and elsewhere. The College has licensed technologies to 62 pharmaceutical, diagnostic, biotechnology and medical device corporations.

Specialized research centers at the Medical College comprising faculty from many areas of expertise include:

Federally Designated Centers
National Biomedical Electron Paramagnetic Resonance Center
National Center for AIDS Intervention Research
National Clinical and Translational Science Institute of Southeast Wisconsin
Wisconsin CIREN (Crash Injury Research and Engineering Network) Center

International Center
Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplant Research

MCW Centers and Institutes
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Center
Cancer Center
Cardiovascular Center
Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities
Center for Imaging Research
Center for Infectious Disease Research
Center for Patient Care and Outcomes Research
Comprehensive Injury Center (CIC)
Digestive Disease Center
Genomic Sciences and Precision Medicine Center
Institute for Health & Equity
Neuroscience Research Center