Alumni Notes | Winter 2017


John C. Hagan III, MD, GME '70John C. Hagan III, MD, GME '70, edited the book, The Science of Near-Death Experiences, published by the University of Missouri Press. He and his fellow contributors describe evidence-based research on near-death experiences and interview physicians who themselves have undergone near-death experiences. Dr. Hagan is a board-certified ophthalmologist and was the founder of the Midwest Eye Institute of Kansas City. He has published more than 140 scientific articles and designed several surgical instruments. Dr. Hagan also was the editor of the book, Missouri Medicine: The Journal of the Missouri State Medical Association.

Julian H. Lombard, PhD '75Julian H. Lombard*, PhD '75, professor of physiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin, received a four-year, $1.7 million grant from the NIH's National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to investigate genetic factors involved with cardiovascular diseases. Dr. Lombard will investigate a specific gene, called NRF2, to determine its role in restoring normal function of blood vessels that are adversely affected by a high-salt diet.


Albert L. Fisher, MD '80, was elected president of the Association of American Physicians and Surgeons in September 2016. He is board-certified in family medicine and has been in private practice in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, for 31 years.

Lois Connolly, MD '84, GME '87Lois Connolly*, MD '84, GME '87, was awarded the 2016 Distinguished Service Award by the Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists (WSA). Dr. Connolly, who serves as an MCW professor of anesthesiology, has been an active member of the WSA for more than 15 years, including serving as president, member of the board of directors and legislative conference representative.

Jeffrey Whittle, MD '84, MPHJeffrey Whittle*, MD '84, MPH, received the 2016 Laureate Award from the American College of Physicians – Wisconsin Chapter. The Laureate Award recognizes one member each year who demonstrates by example and conducts an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research and service to her/his community and to the American College of Physicians. Dr. Whittle is professor of medicine (general internal medicine) at MCW.


Stuart J. Wong, MD '90, GME '93, FEL '98Stuart J. Wong*, MD '90, GME '93, FEL '98, received a $2.6 million grant from the NIH's National Cancer Institute to evaluate a widely-used Chinese herbal formula, called Antitumor B, as a potential cancer preventative agent for squamous cell carcinoma, the most common form of mouth cancer. Dr. Wong serves is associate professor of medicine (hematology and oncology) and otolaryngology at MCW; his co-principal investigator for the study is Ming You, MD, PhD, Joseph F. Heil, Jr. Professor of Molecular Oncogenesis, senior associate dean for cancer research, education and clinical care, and director of the MCW Cancer Center.

Arun K. Gosain, MD, GME '90, FEL '91Arun K. Gosain, MD, GME '90, FEL '91, was named to the board of governors of the American College of Surgeons, which, with 80,000 members, is the largest organization of surgeons in the world. Dr. Gosain is division head of plastic surgery at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital in Chicago.

Ronald J. Hauptman, MD '91Ronald J. Hauptman, MD '91, a gastroenterologist with Arizona Digestive Health in Phoenix, was highlighted as a "GI leader to know" by Becker's GI and Endoscopy.

David A. Margolis, MD, GME '92, FEL '95David A. Margolis*, MD, GME '92, FEL '95, was named a "Healthcare Hero" by the Milwaukee BizTimes in the "Physician" category, which recognizes a physician whose performance on the job is considered exemplary by patients and peers. Dr. Margolis, who serves MCW as professor of pediatrics (hematology/oncology/BMT), associate chair and interim division chief, also is director, Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Bone Marrow Transplant Program.

Meic H. Schmidt, MD '94, GME '01, MBAMeic H. Schmidt, MD '94, GME '01, MBA, was named director of neurosurgery at Westchester Medical Center and Maria Fareri Children's Hospital in Valhalla, New York, and MidHudson Regional Hospital in Poughkeepsie, New York. Dr. Schmidt, a neurosurgeon specializing in neurosurgical spine surgery and neurooncology, also was appointed chair and professor of neurosurgery at New York Medical College in Valhalla.

Zia Agha, MD, GME '96, MS '98, was promoted to the role of chief medical officer at West Health, a national nonprofit organization based in La Jolla, California, focused on enabling seniors to age in place through access to high-quality health and support services. Dr. Agha joined West Health in 2014 and also serves as executive vice president of clinical research and informatics – and has additional responsibility for telehealth.

Yahia Lodi, MD, GME '98, joined Faxton St. Luke's Healthcare's (Utica, New York) medical staff in the department of medicine/interventional neurology. He previously served as neurosciences academic chair at SUNY Upstate Medical University's clinical campus in Binghamton, New York.

Sanjeev Pradhan, MD '98Sanjeev Pradhan, MD '98, was honored by Advocate South Suburban Hospital in Hazel Crest, Illinois, on its Physician Recognition Wall, for his excellent work in vascular and endovascular surgery – including achievements in patient satisfaction and clinical outcomes.


Darcy Murphy, MD '09, joined the Duluth (Minnesota) Family Medicine Residency Program as a family medicine physician. She previously worked at Essentia Health-Hermantown (Minnesota) Clinic.


Andrew Ertl, MD '10, joined Sauk Prairie (Wisconsin) Healthcare as an orthopaedic surgeon.

Michael E. Aberger, MD '11, joined Phoenix Urology of St. Joseph, Missouri, as a urologist.

Rosanne M. Danielson, MD, FEL '12, joined Premier Gastroenterology Specialists in Dayton, Ohio, as a gastroenterologist.

Elisabeth Gibbons, MD '12, joined St. Luke's Denfeld Medical Clinic in Duluth, Minnesota, as a family medicine physician.

Muhammad Ali, MD, MS '13Muhammad Ali, MD, MS '13, a gastroenterologist with Gastroenterology Consultants of San Antonio (Texas), was highlighted as a "GI leader to know" by Becker's GI and Endoscopy.

Michael L. Mumert, MD, FEL '14, a neurosurgeon with Springfield (Missouri) Neurological and Spine Institute, was highlighted as a "Spine surgeon leader to know" by Becker's Spine Review.

Maria Pechacek, MPH '15Maria Pechacek, MPH '15, was appointed a public health associate with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Office for State, Tribal, Local and Territorial Support. She started her assignment in Minneapolis in October 2016.

From Our Readers

MCW alumni are well-represented at Steward-St. Elizabeth's Medical Center in Boston.

They include (l-r): Stephen Gutting, MD '93, GME '00, chief of spine surgery; Stuart Schneller, MD '75, chief of rheumatology; and Gordon Novak, MD '93, co-director of the pain management service. Gary Robelen, MD '84 (not pictured), serves as chair of the department of anesthesiology and pain medicine.

*MCW faculty member

MCW alumni well-represented at Steward-St. Elizabeth's Medical Center in Boston

Medical College of Wisconsin…8701 Watertown Plank Rd., Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-4725  |  Fax: (414) 955-6699  |


Comments are subject to approval. The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) reserves the right to edit comments for length, grammar, clarity and appropriateness.

Please include your first and last name. Alumni, please also feel free to include your class year(s). Your email address will not be published.

Comments / Ratings
The following required items were not provided or are in the wrong format. Please provide the required responses and submit again:

  Please enter your name
  Please enter a valid email
550 characters left
  Please enter a comment