Eye Institute well-represented among charter Inductee members to Retina Hall of Fame

Nov. 21, 2017 MCW News - The Medical College of Wisconsin Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences is proud to announce that 17 ophthalmologists with connections to the MCW Eye Institute, including two current faculty, have been named charter inductees to the Retina Hall of Fame for their achievements in medicine and contributions to the retina subspecialty. Dennis P. Han, MD, the Jack A. & Elaine Klieger Professor of Ophthalmology, and Judy E. Kim, MD, professor of ophthalmology & visual sciences, were among the 242 charter members who have distinguished themselves in research and treatments of retinal diseases and conditions.

Dr. Han has been on faculty since 1988. He serves as chief of the vitreoretinal service at MCW, medical director of clinical imaging Dr. Dennis Hanservices at the Froedtert & MCW Eye Institute and a member of the board of directors of Prevent Blindness Wisconsin. Dr. Han has published over 180 peer-reviewed articles, 25 book chapters and two books, Cataract Surgery and Retinal Disease: Optimizing Visual Outcome and Make Your Clinics Flow With Synchrony: A Practical and Innovative Guide for Physicians, Managers, and Staff. He is the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Senior Honor Award from the American Society of Retina Specialists. He is a member of the Macula Society, Retina Society, American Ophthalmological Society and the American Society of Retina Specialists. Dr. Han has also received Lean Healthcare certification by the University of Michigan College of Engineering and has served as a consultant to both private and academic clinical practices on the topic of improving health care efficiency.

Dr. Judy E. KimDr. Kim has been on faculty since 1999 and is active in research, education and patient care related to retinal conditions. She heads the Teleophthalmology to Improve Eye Care among Latinos project through a Healthy Wisconsin Partnership Project to address issues related to improving access to care and reducing vision loss in high-risk populations. Dr. Kim has published over 130 publications, book chapters and monographs related to diabetic retinopathy and other retinal diseases. She has received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Senior Achievement Award and the American Society of Retina Specialists Honor Award and Service Award. Dr. Kim also is a Heed Foundation Fellow and has been selected to the Leadership Development Program of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. She has been elected to many regional and national leadership and committee positions, including the Executive Board of Directors of the American Society of Retina Specialists and the Council for American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Drs. Han and Kim are both graduates of MCW’s fellowship in vitreoretinal diseases and surgery. The founder of the fellowship program, Thomas M. Aaberg, Sr., MD, is also among the Retina Hall of Fame charter members, along with seven of his trainees and three colleagues. In all, those Retina Hall of Fame inductees with MCW connections are:

  • Thomas M. Aaberg, Sr., MD (faculty 1968-1988)
  • Gary W. Abrams, MD (faculty 1980-1992 faculty)
  • Gregory S. Brinton, MD (FEL ’81 and faculty 1981-1984)
  • Thomas C. Burton, MD (faculty 1983-1993)
  • Jay A. Fleischman, MD (FEL ’80)
  • Dennis P. Han, MD (FEL ’87 and faculty 1987-present)
  • Glenn J. Jaffe, MD (FEL ’89)
  • Judy E. Kim, MD (FEL ’96 and faculty 1999-present)
  • Travis A. Meredith, MD (FEL ’76 and faculty 1976-1980)
  • William Mieler, MD (FEL ’84 and faculty 1985-1999)
  • Timothy G. Murray, MD, MBA (FEL ’91)
  • Andrew J. Packer, MD (FEL ’81)
  • David W. Parke II, MD (FEL ’83)
  • John Pollack, MD (FEL ’97)
  • Trexler M. Topping, MD (faculty 1980-1987)
  • David F. Williams, MD (FEL ’90)
  • George A. Williams, MD (FEL ’84 and faculty 1984-1988)

The Retina Hall of Fame honors physicians, scientists and related health care workers, over many centuries and countless generations, who have devoted their professional lives to innovation, research and clinical care in the field of retina. They have saved many from blindness and improved innumerable lives.

Comments / Ratings
The following required items were not provided or are in the wrong format. Please provide the required responses and submit again:

  Please enter your name
  Please enter a valid email
550 characters left
  Please enter a comment