MCW Faculty Honors News

Please wait while we gather your results.

Dr. Carlyle Chan appointed AAMC senior consultant in GME

Oct. 5 - Carlyle Chan, MD, professor of psychiatry and behavioral medicine and the Institute for Health and Equity, has been appointed AAMC senior consultant in GME. He will work with two other senior consultants to advise a new AAMC section, Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships in Medical Education.

Dr. Mary Horowitz receives Mastership accreditation from the American College of Physicians

Oct. 3 - Congratulations to Mary Horowitz, MD, the Robert A. Uihlein Professor for Hematologic Research and chief of the division of hematology and oncology, who has received Mastership accreditation from the American College of Physicians (ACP)!

Dr. Beth Erickson named to inaugural class of new national fellowship

May 5 - Beth A. Erickson, MD, professor of radiation oncology, has become a member of the inaugural class of the American Brachytherapy Society Fellows (FABS).

Dr. Carlyle Chan elected member of National Board of Medical Examiners

April 4 - Carlyle H. Chan, MD, professor of psychiatry and behavioral medicine, was elected a member of the National Board of Medical Examiners. Nominated by the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, he began a four-year term at the board’s recent annual meeting in Philadelphia.

Dr. Dawn Siegel to lead first research network in pediatric dermatology

Jan. 24 - Dawn Siegel, MD, associate professor of dermatology, is a founding member of the Pediatric Dermatology Research Alliance (PeDRA) and was appointed as Co-Chair of the organization in November. Dr. Siegel has certifications in dermatology and pediatric dermatology.

Dr. Hershel Raff to receive Distinguished Service Award from national physiology association

Aug. 3 - Hershel Raff, PhD, professor of medicine (endocrinology, metabolism and clinical nutrition), physiology and surgery, and director of the Endocrine Research Laboratory at Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center, has been selected to receive the Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology.

Dr. Jay Sandlow named Best Reviewer of 2016 by Journal of Urology

March 28 - Jay Sandlow, MD, professor and vice chair of urology, received the Best Reviewer of 2016 Award from the Journal of Urology for his dedicated service and timely reviews of manuscripts on sexual function and infertility. The award is given annually to one reviewer in each urologic area.

Dr. Jonathan Bock named fellow of Triological Society, selected for top clinical research honor

March 31 - The Triological Society has accepted Dr. Jonathan Bock’s thesis, "Evaluation of the Natural History of Patients Who Aspirate," and he will be inducted as a fellow on Friday, April 28, during the society’s annual meeting. Dr. Bock also will receive the society’s 2017 Mosher Award, which is bestowed upon one recipient each year to recognize excellence in clinical research.

Dr. Kalyanaraman serves on Brazilian grant advisor board

Feb. 20 - Balaraman Kalyanaraman, PhD, chair and professor of biophysics and Harry R. and Angeline E. Quadracci Professor in Parkinson’s Research, participates on the advisory board for the Research Center of Redox Processes in Biomedicine (CEPID Redoxoma), and recently attended its 3rd annual meeting in São Paulo, Brazil to discuss the progress of the project.

Dr. Kenneth Lee wins Silver Helmet Award for his commitment to Veterans

April 19 - Kenneth Lee, MD, associate professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation and chief of the Spinal Cord Injury Unit at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center, received the 2017 AMVETS Silver Helmet Award for his commitment to helping wounded veterans.

Dr. Kenneth Schellhase elected president of Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians

Feb. 15 - Kenneth G. Schellhase, MD, professor of family and community medicine, has been elected president of the Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians (WAFP). The induction of officers took place at the WAFP’s virtual annual business meeting on Jan. 21. WAFP represents more than 2,900 family physicians, residents, and medical students throughout Wisconsin.

Dr. Kenneth Simons elected chair of international ACGME Surgical/Hospital-Based Review Committee

Feb. 8 - Kenneth B. Simons, MD, MCW senior associate dean for graduate medical education and accreditation as well as professor of ophthalmology and pathology, has been elected chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education International (ACGME-I) Surgical/Hospital-Based Review Committee.

Dr. Marjorie Wang elected chair of national spine organization

May 4 - Marjorie Wang, MD, MPH, professor of neurosurgery, chief of the division of community neurosurgery, and vice chair of clinical operations and quality, has been elected chair of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons/Congress of Neurological Surgeons Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves. This is one of the largest national spine surgery organizations and includes neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons.

Dr. Steve Hargarten honored with 2017 World Citizen Award

May 8 - Stephen Hargarten, MD, MPH, professor and chair of emergency medicine, associate dean of global health, and global health pathway director, received the International Institute of Wisconsin (IIW)’s Dorothy Von Briesen World Citizen Award.

Media Contacts

Holly Botsford
External Communications Lead
Medical College of Wisconsin
(414) 955-8761 (Office)
(414) 688-7960 (Cell)

Alex Krouse
External Communications Specialist
Medical College of Wisconsin
(414) 955-5825 (Office)
(414) 491-7156 (Cell)