Research Day is Monday, Sept. 24

Mark your calendars for the largest research event of the year!

Submit your abstract for our ENORMOUS poster session by noon on Monday, July 9.
Faculty, residents, and research support staff are invited to participate. Reviewers will select outstanding posters for cash awards!

Submit Your Abstract

Poster Session: 1:00-3:00 pm

HUB Gallery, 1st Floor

Add Poster Session to Calendar

Keynote Address: 3:00-4:00 pm

Kerrigan Auditorium

Add Keynote to Calendar

Michael RosbashFeaturing Keynote Address by 2017 Nobel Prize Winner


Michael Rosbash, PhD

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Peter Gruber Professor of Neuroscience, Brandeis University

Dr. Rosbash and his colleagues, Jeffrey C. Hall, PhD, and Michael W. Young, PhD, were jointly awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm."

Congratulations to the 2017 poster winners!

To read the winning abstracts, view the 2017 Research Day Book online (PDF).

Clinical Fellows and Residents Awardees

Basic Research

Jana Ranson, Neurosurgery (winner)
"Different Acute Postinjury Symptoms Mediate the Relation Between Maladaptive Personality and Later PTSD Symptoms in Mild Traumatic Brain Injury (mTBI) and Orthopedic Polytrauma Inpatients"

Tasneem Alaqzam, Adolescent Medicine (runner up)
"Treatment Modalities in Adolescents Who present With Heavy Menstrual Bleeding"

Clinical & Educational Research

Paige Persch, Obstetrics & Gynecology (winner)
"Establishing an Evidence Based Cutoff: Basal Follicle Stimulation Hormone Levels of 8 or Greater to Detect Diminished Ovarian Reserve in Young Women"

Rachel Landisch, Surgery (runner up)
"Efficacy of Screening Ultrasound for VTE diagnosis in Critically Ill Children after Trauma"

Junior Faculty Awardees

Basic Research

Daria Ilatovskaya, Physiology (winner)
"Renin-Independent Blood Pressure Development in Dahl Salt-Sensitive Rats"

Motaz Selim, General Surgery (runner up)
"Impact of a Dedicated Transplant Critical Care Model on Survival Outcomes After Liver Transplantation in the Highest Acuity Patients"

Clinical & Educational Research

Timothy Ridolfi, Surgery (winner)
"Rectal Cancer Resection with Pathologic Upstaging: Adjuvant Chemoradiation, Systemic Chemotherapy, and Observation"

Carrie Peterson, Surgery (winner)
"The Impact of Intravenous Acetaminophen for 24 Hours After Abdominal Surgery on Pain and Narcotic Consumption: A Meta-Analysis"

Joni Williams, Medicine (runner up)
"Gender Invariance in the Relationship between Social Support and Glycemic Control"

Certificate Winners

Research Support Staff

Nathan Schuld, Biochemistry (winner)
"Mapping the Surfaceome of Plasma Cells Reveals Novel Immunotherapy Targets for Multiple Myeloma"

Vikash Kumar, Physiology (runner up)
"Therapeutic Suppression of Mtorc2 Signaling Reduces Salt-Induced Hypertension and Kidney Injury in SS Rats"