Department News & Announcements

MCW Graduate School logoMCW faculty receiving the 2016-17 Oustanding Graduate School Educator awards are Donald R. Jacobson, PhDSarah B. White, MD; and Kevin M. Koch, PhD.  By providing innovative training of the best and by the best, MCW Radiology trains highly skilled healthcare professionals. Awardees are faculty of the MCW Healthcare Technologies Management program. 

JMI logoCo-authors Peter LaViolette, PhD, MSMark Hohenwalter, MD, and other MCW colleagues, published a paper in the Journal of Medical Imaging on the topic of prostate cancer. Follow-up studies will include collaboration with Petar Duvnjak, MDMichael Griffin Jr, MD, PhDAdam Zorn, MD, and Parag Tolat, MD.


SPR logoMCW and CHW logoNghia (Jack) N. Vo, MD was named President Elect for the Society of Chairs of Radiology at Children’s Hospitals.

Christopher G. Peske, PA-CWe're pleased to announce that Christopher G. Peske, PA-C has received the 2017 Children's Specialty Group (CSG) PA Excellence Award.  Chris has been a physician assistant for 29 years. He joined MCW ten years ago and currently works in the Pediatric Radiology Division.

Chris is actively involved in student educations, PA workgroups and organizing quarterly interventional radiology M&M reviews. He strives to build collaboration and a sense of community via his practice daily. Chris’ passion and desire to make a difference makes him a role model for all those he interacts with both professionally and personally.

Additional nominees for the award included Susan Boebel, Lynn Calaway, Diana Choren, Tia Derflinger, Jennifer Dunham-Ingle, Nancy Etter, Brenda Haase, Anne Lange, Lindsey Ray, Katie Ricciardi, Joree Ruiz and Kristen Slusar.

Thanks to all of you for the work you do every day for our kids and families. 

Keith E. Baynes, MDKeith E. Baynes, MD was elected to the MCW Society of Teaching Scholars (STS) Faculty Council. Each year since 1990, up to three full-time MCW faculty have been elected to STS whose mission is to, by example and action, stimulate innovation in medical education and represent excellence in education in faculty forums.

Best Doctors Logo 2017-18A total of 20 Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) faculty radiologists are listed on the Best Doctors® in America list for 2017-2018. Physicians selected for inclusion are determined through a peer-review by thousands of doctors nationwide. Only those physicians who earn the consensus support of their peers as well as meet additional qualification criteria are included. Congratulations to: Keith E. Baynes, MDJoseph J. Budovec MDGuillermo F. Carrera, MDScott J. Erickson, MDW. Dennis Foley, MDMary Beth Gonyo, MDLawrence R. Goodman, MDRobert S. Hellman, MDRobert A. Hieb, MDEric J. Hohenwalter, MDMark D. Hohenwalter, MDCharles S. Marn, MDVincent P. Mathews, MDMichelle A. Michel, MDParag A. Patel, MDFrancisco A. Quiroz, MDWilliam S. Rilling, MDGary R. Sudakoff, MDParag P. Tolat, MD, and Sean M. Tutton, MD.


Komen logoThe Komen Race for the Cure was a success with MCW Radiology, Froedtert and CDI team effort and camaraderie! The event took place at the Milwaukee Lakefront on September 24, 2017.

DICOE logoFroedtert and MCW Imaging Centers designated as Centers of Excellence. The American College of Radiology has designated Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Froedtert Hospital and the health network’s five affiliated CDI locations as Diagnostic Imaging Centers of Excellence.

  • Tadanori Mammoto, MD, PhD, received a research grant from the US Department of Health & Human Services National Institute on Aging in the amount of $231,000. Congratulations, Dr. Mammoto!
  • Dr. Lawrence Goodman was found to be one of the most-cited contributing authors of pulmonary imaging articles. The analysis (May 2017) encompassed 274 journals published between 1953 and 2012. "The 100 Top-Cited Articles in Pulmonary Imaging: A Bibliometric Analysis."
  • Research paper "Site-Selective Delivery of Novel Trimodal Optical/MR/X-ray Contrast Bearing Photothermal Nanoconstructs Increases Uptake in Colorectal Liver Metastasis Tumors," co-authored by Amit Joshi, PhD, received top recognition at the WCIO 2017 Annual Conference in Boston, MA.
  • Jill Hammersley, MD, lectured at 68th Annual Meeting of the Wisconsin Radiological Society (WRS). Dr. Hammersley presented, “Screening Mammography: What Every Radiologist Needs to Know and How the New York Times Got It Wrong.”
  • Julie Sullivan, MD, lectured at the 68th Annual Meeting of the Wisconsin Radiological Society (WRS). Dr. Sullivan presented, “Implementing Tomosynthesis Into Practice.”
  • The MCW Medical Physics Residency Program, under the direction of Yu Liu, PhD, has been approved by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs (CAMPEP).
  • Stacy O’Connor, MD, was elected to serve as a member of MCW's Faculty Information Technology Committee for a three-year term of 2017-2020.
  • Dr. Joshua Pohlman’s work with Dr. Nghia Vo on bilateral congenital diaphragmatic hernias was designated as a ‘Best Case’ at the American Institute for Radiologic Pathology (AIRP) conference in Washington, DC.
  • Peter LaViolette, PhD, assistant professor of radiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) received a five-year, $1,752,975 grant from the National Institutes of Health’s National Cancer Institute to investigate magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of glioblastoma, high-grade brain cancer.
  • Sarah White, MD, MS, FSIR, is the recipient of a $20,000 supplemental award from the MCW Cancer Center for her ACS Pilot Research Project titled, “Develop a new magnetically triggered oxaliplatin nanoparticle to treat colorectal liver metastases.”
  • Kathleen Schmainda, PhD, received funds from Novocure for research project "Assessment of Optune Therapy for Patients with Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma using Advanced MRI" comparing standard versus advanced MRI for ability to predict response to Optune therapy. The project is budgeted for $160,070 over two years.
  • Dr. Yang Wang’s paper, “Multiband multi-echo imaging of simultaneous oxygenation and flow timeseries for resting state connectivity” was selected for inclusion in the PLOS ONE 10-year anniversary dataset collection.  Only four papers are selected for the Neuroscience category.  MCW co-authors include Drs. Alexander Cohen, and Andrew Nencka.
  • Sarah White, MD, MS, FSIR, was inducted as a fellow of the Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR). The induction ceremony was at the SIR March 2017 annual meeting in Washington, DC.
  • MCW Office of Global Health recognizes two radiology faculty members for collaborating with partners globally to address health inequities.
    • Francisco A. Quiroz, MD, FRSU, FAIUM - International Radiology Residents Visiting Observership Program in Diagnostic Radiology. Dr. Quiroz's program provides international medical graduates exposure to the processes of a modern academic radiology department in the United States. Visiting residents are encouraged to use their acquired knowledge upon return to their countries of origin. The program provides a focused experience of eight weeks observing and discussing techniques and cases from multiple radiology subspecialties. Visiting residents are from the National Institute of Medical Sciences and Nutrition "Salvador Zubiran", affiliated with the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), one of the National Institutes of Health in Mexico.
    • Sean M. Tutton, MD, FSIR - Exchanges of Radiology Professors. As a member of the World Congress on Interventional Oncology (WCIO), Dr. Tutton assists with coordination of educational efforts globally, with a focus on South America and Latin America.