Radiology News & Announcements

Best Doctors logo 2017-18

A total of 20 Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) faculty radiologists are listed on the Best Doctors® in America list for 2017-2018. Physicians selected for inclusion are determined through a peer-review by thousands of doctors nationwide. Only those physicians who earn the consensus support of their peers as well as meet additional qualification criteria are included.

Journal of Neuro-OncologyCongratulations to Kathleen M. Schmainda, PhD, and her team for a recent publication in the Journal of Neuro-Oncology. "Spatial discrimination of glioblastoma and treatment effect with histologically-validated perfusion and diffusion magnetic resonanace imaging metrics." A figure from the article was also chosen for the journal cover. Co-authors are Melissa A. Prah, Engineer II; Mona M. Al-Gizawiy, PhD; Wade M. Mueller, MD; Elizabeth J. Cochran, MD; Raymond G. Hoffmann, PhD; and Jennifer M. Connelley, MD.

Manav Bhalla, MD Manav Bhalla, MD, was recognized in the 2017 RSNA Research & Education Foundation Grants and Awards publication. Dr. Bhalla is a recipient of the Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award. Awardees are selected from outstanding trainees who follow in Wilhelm Roentgen's footsteps - the pursit of knowledge. 

Chinese radiologists at GE

Yang Wang, MD, PhD (sixth from left) hosted five visiting radiologists from Guangxi Medical University, China. Their time here included touring GE Healthcare in Waukesha, WI.

David Cameron et alDavid Cameron, former prime minister of the United Kingdom, is the current President of Alzheimer's Research UK. Mr. Cameron toured the Daniel M. Soref Imaging Research Facility at MCW and met with leaders in Neurosciences on campus. Gregory Q. Hill, JD Matt Scaglione, PhD Cecilia Hillard, PhD The Rt Hon David Cameron Vincent P. Mathews, MD Joseph S. Goveas, MD and Kevin Koch, PhD.

Brycen D. Bodell, MD Brycen D. Bodell, MD, was elected Chair of the Recruitment Committee in the Governing Council of the Society
of Interventional Radiology-Resident Fellow Student (SIR-RFS) section. Dr. Bodell will be inducted in March 2018
at the 43rd Scientific Meeting of SIR 2018 Conference in Los Angeles, CA.

Eric Smith MDEric R. Smith, MD has been selected as a member of the 2017-18 RSNA Resident and Fellow Committee (RFC).

RSNA logo

MCW Graduate School logoMCW faculty receiving the 2016-17 Oustanding Graduate School Educator awards are Donald R. Jacobson, PhDSarah B. White, MD; and Kevin M. Koch, PhD.  By providing innovative training of the best and by the best, MCW Radiology trains highly skilled healthcare professionals. Awardees are faculty of the MCW Healthcare Technologies Management program. 

CHW MCW LogoNghia (Jack) N. Vo, MD was named President Elect for the Society of Chairs of Radiology at Children’s Hospitals.

Christopher G. Peske, PA-CWe're pleased to announce that Christopher G. Peske, PA-C has received the 2017 Children's Specialty Group (CSG) PA Excellence Award.  Chris has been a physician assistant for 29 years. He joined MCW ten years ago and currently works in the Pediatric Radiology Division.

Chris is actively involved in student educations, PA workgroups and organizing quarterly interventional radiology M&M reviews. He strives to build collaboration and a sense of community via his practice daily. Chris’ passion and desire to make a difference makes him a role model for all those he interacts with both professionally and personally.

Additional nominees for the award included Susan Boebel, Lynn Calaway, Diana Choren, Tia Derflinger, Jennifer Dunham-Ingle, Nancy Etter, Brenda Haase, Anne Lange, Lindsey Ray, Katie Ricciardi, Joree Ruiz and Kristen Slusar.

Thanks to all of you for the work you do every day for our kids and families. 

Peter LaViolette, PhDCo-authors Peter LaViolette, PhD, MS,Mark Hohenwalter, MD, with other MCW colleagues, published a paper in the Journal of Medical Imaging on the topic of prostate cancer. Follow-up studies will include collaborators Petar Duvnjak, MD, Michael Griffin Jr, MD, PhD, Adam Zorn, MD, and Parag Tolat, MD.

Keith E. Baynes, MDKeith E. Baynes, MD was elected to the MCW Society of Teaching Scholars (STS) Faculty Council. Each year since 1990, up to three full-time MCW faculty have been elected to STS whose mission is to, by example and action, stimulate innovation in medical education and represent excellence in education in faculty forums.