The Edwin H. Ellison Memorial Lectureship

Edwin H. Ellison, MDFrom 1958 to 1969 Edwin H. Ellison, MD, was a Professor and Chairman of the Division of Surgery of the Medical College of Wisconsin, then Marquette School of Medicine. He was an excellent teacher and surgical scientist. His untimely death in 1970 prompted his friends and colleagues to seek a means of perpetuating the Ellison legacy. The Edwin H. Ellison Memorial Lectureship has been established to bring leading educators in general surgery to the Medical College on a regular basis.

Dr. Ellison received his surgical training at Ohio State University College of Medicine under the tutelage of Robert M. Zollinger, MD. Dr. Ellison served on the Ohio State University faculty form 1944 to 1957. He moved to Milwaukee in 1958. During the next eleven years, his major effort was the development of a full time department of surgery for the Medical College of Wisconsin. He was immensely successful and the department's academic reputation soared.

Under his leadership, the faculty made significant contributions to the field of gastrointestinal surgery. These efforts stemmed from Dr. Ellison's earlier work at Ohio State and the discovery with Dr. Zollinger of a disease entity with a pathophysiological interaction between islet cell tumors of the pancreas and the stomach, now widely known as the Zollinger-Ellison syndrome.

Dr. Ellison saw the need for an interdisciplinary research facility and in 1961 the Allen-Bradley Medical Science Laboratory was established for the faculty on the grounds of the Milwaukee County Medical Complex. The Allen-Bradley facility is in keeping with the concept of the Medical Center of Southeastern Wisconsin for comprehensive programs of teaching, research, and patient care.

Dr. Ellison was a well-known leader in organized medicine, and served on the editorial boards of prestigious journals. He contributed 161 papers to scientific literature, and shortly before he died had compiled illustrative material for "Ellison's Atlas of Surgery of the Stomach and Duodenum".

His contributions take on more honors with time; his inspiration is hopefully embodied in the Edwin H. Ellison Memorial Lectureship.


Visiting Professor



Justin Dimick, MD

University of Michigan Health System
George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery
Chair of the Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery
Director, Center for Healthcare Outcomes and Policy
Associate Chair for Strategy and Finance


Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, MSHA

(Lecture video)
(Grand Rounds lecture video)

Photo 1: Drs. T. Clark Gamblin, Robert S.D. Higgins, Douglas B. Evans
Photo 2: Dr. Robert Higgins with Graduating Residents (Drs. Betsy Appel, Moritz Wyler von Ballmoos, Kathleen Simon, Kevin Hudak, Robert Higgins, Nathan Heinzerling, Abby Rothstein, Ryan Berg)

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Director, Department of Surgery
William Stewart Halsted Professor of Surgery
  and Surgeon-in-Chief


James Conway, MS, FACHE

Harvard School of Public Health
Institute for Healthcare Improvement


Robin S. McLeod, MD

(Lecture video)

University of Toronto
Institute of Health Policy Management and Evaluation
Professor, Department of Surgery


Yuman Fong, MD

Memorial Sloan-Kettering
Murray F. Brennan Chair in Surgery
Vice Chair for Technology Development
Department of Surgery
Director, Center for Image-Guided Interventions


John D. Birkmeyer, MD

University of Michigan, Michigan Surgical Collaborative
for Outcomes Research and Evaluation
George D. Zuidema Professor and
  Chair of Surgical Outcomes Research


Douglas L. Fraker, MD

University of Pennsylvania
Jonathan E. Rhoads Associate Professor of Surgical Science
Chief, Division of Endocrine and Oncologic Surgery


Peter J. Deckers, MD

University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Murray-Heilig Professor of Surgery, Dean Emeritus 


Nicole S. Gibran, MD

Harborview Medical Center
Director, University of Washington Burn Center
Professor, Department of Surgery 


Jay L. Grosfeld, MD

Indiana University School of Medicine
Lafayette Page Professor of Pediatric Surgery
Chairman Emeritus, Department of Surgery 


Gregorio A. Sicard, MD

Washington University School of Medicine
Professor of Surgery
Chief Section of Vascular Surgery
Chief Division of General Surgery
Vice Chairman Department of Surgery 


Larry H. Hollier, MD

Louisiana State University
Health Sciences Center School of Medicine
Dean and Professor Surgery


Bruce E. Jarrell, MD

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs


Carlos A. Pelligrini, MD

University of Washington School of Medicine
The Henry N. Harkins Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery 


Michael G. Sarr, MD

Mayo Clinic
Professor and Chair
Division of Gastroenterologic and General Surgery 


Hugo Obertop, Professor

Academic Medical Center - Amsterdam
Head of Surgical Specialties and Operation Centre


R.C.G. Russell, MB

The Middlesex Hospital and King Edward VII Hospital
  for Officers - London
Consultant Surgeon


James Toouli, MBBS, PhD

Flinders Medical Centre - Australia
Chairman, Department of Surgery


Murray F. Brennan, MD

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center - New York
Chairman, Department of Surgery 


Richard A. Prinz, MD

Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical College - Chicago
Helen Shedd Keith Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery 


Andrew Warshaw, MD



James Becker, MD



Keith Kelly, MD



Chris Ellison, MD



Edward Passaro, MD



James Cameron, MD



Wallace Ritchie, MD



Robert Hermann, MD



Courtney Townsend, MD



Hailie Debas, MD



David Nahrwold, MD



Ronald Tompkins, MD



William Silen, MD



Paul Jordan, MD



Carter Nance, MD



Robert Zeppa, MD



Mort Grossman, MD



Ward Griffen, MD



Jim Thompson, MD