The Jonathan B. Towne Visiting Professor

Jonathan B. Towne, MDJonathan B. Towne, MD, Professor and Chief Emeritus for the Department of Vascular Surgery retired June 30, 2007 after more than 30 years at The Medical College of Wisconsin. To perpetually commemorate his dedicated years of surgical academic and professional leadership, the Department of Surgery is proud to honor him through a named visiting professorship. The Jonathan T. Towne Visiting Professorship has been established to bring leading experts and educators involved in the multidisciplinary care for vascular disease to The Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Towne dedicated his career to inspiring and educating students and physicians whose interests lie in healing through education and collaboration.

Dr. Towne joined the faculty in 1975 as Chief of the Vascular Surgery Section at the College and Director of Vascular Surgery Service at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center. In 1981, he was appointed Director of Vascular Surgery Service at John L. Doyne Hospital. For more than 20 years, he has served as Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery.

Prior to coming to the Medical College, Dr. Towne completed his general surgery residency at the University of Nebraska; served as the Chief of General Surgery in the United States Air Force at the USAF Hospital on Vandenberg Air Force Base; and completed his vascular surgery fellowship at Baylor University Medical Center.

Dr. Towne has earned numerous honors from the College and his students, including the Medical College's Distinguished Service Award and Surgery's Teacher of the Year Award.

Dr. Towne has served in leadership positions on many local, regional and national committees, societies and other professional organizations. He has served as the President of the Central Surgical Association from 2002 to 2003; as the President of the Society of Vascular Surgery from 1999-2000; and is currently on the Board of Directors for the American Board of Surgery.

Dr. Towne helped develop a multidisciplinary model of care for vascular disease at the College, Froedtert Hospital and the Zablocki VA Medical Center requiring a high level of cooperation between Vascular Surgery and Interventional Radiology through commitment, education and collaboration forever changing the treatment of vascular disease.


Visiting Professor


2018 Benjamin W. Starnes, MD, FACS University of Washington


Ross Milner, MD

(Lecture video)
(Grand Rounds lecture video)

University of Chicago
Professor of Surgery
Co-Director, Center for Aortic Diseases


Bruce L. Gewertz, MD

(Lecture video)
(Grand Rounds lecture video)

Cedars-Sinai Health System
H & S Nichols Distinguished Chair in Surgery
Chair, Department of Surgery
Vice President, Interventional Services
Vice-Dean, Academic Affairs
Los Angeles, CA


Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., MD

(Lecture video)

University of Virginia Medical Center
Chief, Vascular and Endovascular Surgery
William H. Muller, Jr. Professor of Surgery
Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biological Physics
Director, Cardiovascular Center of Excellence


James S.T. Yao, MD, PhD

(Lecture video)

Northwestern University
Feinberg School of Medicine
Emeritus Professor of Surgery
Division of Vascular Surgery


Timothy F. Kresowik, MD

(Lecture video)

University of Iowa
Carver College of Medicine
Department of Surgery
Professor of Vascular Surgery


Julie A. Freischlag, MD

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
The William Stewart Halsted Professor and Chair
Department of Surgery


Dennis F. Bandyk, MD

University of South Florida
Director of Vascular & Endovascular Surgery
Professor of Surgery


K. Craig Kent, MD

University of Wisconsin
School of Medicine and Public Health
A.R. Curreri Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery
Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery


Robert M. Zwolak, MD, PhD

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Professor of Surgery, Section of Vascular Surgery


William H. Pearce, MD

Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
Professor and Chief, Department of Vascular Surgery