MCW Cancer Center Board

The MCW Cancer Center Philanthropic Board helps to raise awareness of the MCW Cancer Center and private funding for research. The Board includes top business, professional and civic leaders. The money they contribute and raise is more important than ever before as competition increases for federal grant support.

The fund-raising efforts of Board members have supported:

  • Pilot funding, which allows researchers to develop a track record to compete for and leverage long-term federal funds. Seed funds have led to and will continue to lead to larger federal or private agency grants that have the potential to result in breakthrough treatments and cures for disease.
  • Bridge funding for researchers while they renew grants.




Therese Burkhart

Community Leader

Past Chair

Richard L. Schmidt, Jr.

President & CEO, CG Schmidt

Founding Co-Chairs

† Melodie Wilson Oldenburg 

 † Frank J. Pelisek


Ginny Bolger
Community Leader

Therese D. Burkhart
Community Leader

Susan Donovan
Community Leader

Brian Ellenbecker
VP Senior Financial Planner

Elizabeth (Lili) Friedman
Community Leader

Alice J. Gathman
Community Leader

W. Scott Gray
Retired Senior Vice President
Robert W. Baird & Co.

Leila Hanson
CPR RsQ Assist, Inc.

Kadie Jelenchick
Foley & Larder LLP

Walter Kunicki 
Community Leader

Arlene Lee
Community Leader

Joan Lubar
Community Leader

P. Michael Mahoney
Park Bank

Alan Murphy
BlueCo Brands

Susan (Sue) Northey

Branding Breakthroughs

Morgan Oldenburg
Non-profit Youth Director

Laura Peck
Riverwater Partners

Linda Rieke, CPA, CFP
Community Leader

Kathy Schwab
Community Leader

Don Shane
Community Leader

Ed Stein
President, Rock River Cancer Research Foundation

Wm. Steinberg
Managing Partner & CEO
Strategic Leverage Partners

Mona Theobald
Retired Executive - Sales and Marketing
GE Healthcare

Cathy White

Community Leader

Interim Co-Directors, MCW Cancer Center
Hallgeir Rui, MD, PhD
James Thomas, MD, PhD

Emeritus Director

J. Frank Wilson, MD
Retired Chair, Radiation Oncology

Emeritus Members

† Christine Hamilton Foote
† Ann Ellis Heil
† Gwen T. Jackson
Randolph T. Myricks
† Melodie Wilson Oldenburg
† Philip W. Orth
† Richard Van Deuren

† Deceased