Main Campus Entrance-MKE

Dr. Marjorie Wang named 2019-2020 ELAM recipient

Marjorie Wang, MD, MPHMarjorie Wang, MD, MPH, professor of neurosurgery and chief of its community division; co-director of the spine service line; vice chair of clinical operations and quality; and director of the Spine Center for Excellence, is among 61 senior female faculty members from across the United States and Canada to be selected to participate in the 2019-2020 Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® (ELAM) Program for Women. This group is ELAM’s 25th anniversary class of fellows.

ELAM is a core program of the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership at Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia. The one-year program prepares senior women faculty for leadership at academic health centers. The curriculum combines traditional MBA training, such as finance and organizational theory, with activities that enhance personal and professional development around leadership, career advancement, communication, and the use of information and learning technologies.

From 2005-2006, Dr. Wang completed a complex spine fellowship at the Medical College of Wisconsin – after which she joined the faculty and continued her research within MCW’s Center for Patient Care and Outcomes Research (PCOR), which became the Center for Advancing Population Science (CAPS) in 2018. Her interests include outcomes and healthcare delivery – which ultimately would lead to standardizing a best care model. Dr. Wang was promoted to associate professor in July 2010.

In October 2014, an opportunity arose for Dr. Wang to develop her career and leadership in a healthcare system in Washington State, where she participated in the Providence Health System Physician Leadership program and represented her hospital in the Providence Neurosciences Leadership Council (which oversaw strategic planning for neurosciences and spine in 34 hospitals and implemented changes throughout the system). She also served on the hospital’s Clinic Management Operations Council, where she designed and introduced concepts for multidisciplinary spine clinics and created an outreach neurosurgery clinic. During this time, Dr. Wang continued to collaborate with PCOR on research projects presented nationally and published in neurosurgery journals.

In May 2016, Dr. Wang was recruited back to MCW as a full professor and to take on new leadership roles in the Department of Neurosurgery. As part of that core leadership, she has helped develop the strategic vision (with the department Chair) for neurosurgical care across the Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin health network. She has successfully grown the community division of neurosurgery and has built the infrastructure to transition elective spine surgery to Community Memorial Hospital to improve patient experience; lower costs for patients, the hospital and insurers; and relieve capacity issues at Froedtert Hospital. Dr. Wang was named co-director of the spine service line and is the only female service line director in the Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin health network. Last year, Dr. Wang was named co-chair of the Froedtert Hospital Inpatient Platform Safety Committee, charged with improving safety and culture among all services who utilize the inpatient platform. Dr. Wang also serves as the director of the Spine Fellowship program.

“Dr. Wang is an exemplary clinician, teacher, researcher, mentor and burgeoning leader,” said Joseph E. Kerschner, MD, dean of the MCW School of Medicine and provost and executive vice president of MCW. “She has deliberately and methodically built upon her neurosurgical and health services training to take on more clinical and leadership responsibilities, and to continue to further develop her leadership skills. Her career goals are to transform the way healthcare is delivered and to improve the teaching and education of students, residents and fellows.”

The 16 additional MCW faculty members who previously have completed the ELAM fellowship include:

Laura D. Cassidy, MS, PhD (2017-2018), Professor, Institute for Health & Equity: Director, Division of Epidemiology; Director of Research, Institute for Health & Equity; Director, Institute for Health & Equity PhD Program in Public and Community Health

Dawn S. Bragg, PhD* (2016-2017)

Daisy Sahoo, PhD (2016-2017), Vice Chair for Research and Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology and Molecular Medicine

Elizabeth (Libby) Ellinas, MD (2015-2016), Director of the MCW Center for the Advancement of Women in Science and Medicine; Associate Dean for Women's Leadership; Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

Diane W. Braza, MD (2013-2014), Chair and Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Ann K. Rosenthal, MD (2012-2013) Will and Cava Ross Professor of Medicine, Chief, Division of Rheumatology; Chief, Rheumatology Section, Zablocki VA Medical Center; Director, VA Translational Research Unit, Zablocki VA Medical Center

Julie A. Panepinto, MD, MSPH (2011-2012) Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Hematology and Oncology; Vice Chair of Value, Department of Pediatrics; Director, Clinical Research, Sickle Cell Disease Comprehensive Program, Children's Research Institute; Director for Clinical Effectiveness Research, Children’s Research Institute;

Marilyn M. Schapira, MD, MPH* (2010-2011)

Patricia A. Donohoue, MD (2009-2010) Professor, Department of Pediatrics; Chief, Section of Endocrinology

Beth A. Drolet, MD* (2008-2009)

Judy R. Kersten, MD* (2006-2007)

Mary F. Otterson, MD, MS (2004-2005) Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Colorectal Surgery

Gabriele E. Sonnenberg, MD* (2002-2003)

Earnestine Willis, MD, MPH (1998-1999) Kellner Professor in Pediatrics; Director, Center for Advancement of Underserved Children; Institute for Health & Equity, Division of Health Equity and Urban Clinical Care Partnership

Karen J. Marcdante, MD (1997-1998) Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Critical Care; Director, Pediatric Critical Care Fellowship, Department of Pediatrics

Julie Freischlag, MD* (1996-1997)

*Not a current member of the MCW faculty, but participated in the program as a MCW faculty member