News from the 2023 Association for Academic Surgery Conference

Callisia N. Clarke, MD, MS, has been selected as the President-Elect of the Association for Academic Surgery (AAS). She will serve for the 2024-2025 term. Her election was announced at the AAS 2023 Academic Surgical Congress, held in Houston, Texas on February 7-9, 2023. Dr. Clarke previously served as Recorder of the AAS Executive Committee and the Chair of the AAS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force. Dr. Clarke is currently an Associate Professor of Surgical Oncology in the Department of Surgery. We look forward to her leadership at the helm of AAS!

General Surgery Resident Taylor Jaraczewski, MD, and MCW Medical Students Radek Buss and Gopika SenthilKumar, Recognized at the 18th Annual Academic Surgical Congress. The Association for Academic Surgery (AAS) held their 18th Annual Academic Surgical Congress on February 7-9 in Houston, Texas.

Taylor Jaraczewski, MD, was awarded the 2023-2024 AAS/AASF Global Surgery Research Fellowship Award for his proposal “Harnessing data and mixed-methods research to improve surgical morbidity and mortality in Ethiopia.” Dr. Jaraczewski is the inaugural global surgery research resident in the General Surgery Residency Program. Dr. Jaraczewski will receive a $30,000 award for his project and will be invited to speak about his research at the 2025 ASC meeting.

Two MCW medical students were also recognized during last week’s Surgical Congress. Radek Buss, MD Candidate 2023, was awarded the 2023 Senior Medical Student Travel Award. Mr. Buss worked closely with his mentor, Kyle Van Arendonk, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery in the Division of Pediatric Surgery.

Gopika SenthilKumar, a G2 student and MD-PhD Candidate, was presented the 2023 Outstanding Medical Student Presentation Award for her project, “Prediction of Early Recurrence Following CRS/HIPEC in Patients with Appendiceal Cancer.” Ms. Gopika is a member of the AN.AI lab (Accelerating insight. Augmented Intelligence). The AN.AI lab is spearheaded by founder Anai Kothari, MD, MS, Assistant Professor in the Division of Surgical Oncology.